2021 Award Recipients Announced



Congratulations to the Leadership Award Recipients from Dr. Gillian Schmitz

The American College of Emergency Physicians Awards Program honors leadership and excellence. The program provides an opportunity to recognize all members for significant professional contributions as well as service to the College. All members of ACEP are eligible to participate in one or more of the College’s award programs. ACEP congratulates its 2021 honorees, who will be honored during ACEP21 in Boston.

Awards Brochure (PDF)

Leadership Award Recipients

John G. Wiegenstein Leadership Award – Jay A. Kaplan, MD, FACEP

James D. Mills Outstanding Contribution to Emergency Medicine Award - James J. Augustine, MD, FACEP

John A. Rupke Legacy Award – Jeffrey D. Bettinger, MD, FACEP

Colin C. Rorrie Jr, Award for Excellence in Health Policy - Susan M. Nedza, MD, MBA, FACEP

Pamela P. Bensen Trailblazer Award - Rita A. Manfredi-Shutler, MD, FACEP

Judith E. Tintinalli Award for Outstanding Contribution in Education - Michael S. Beeson, MD, MBA, FACEP

Judith E. Tintinalli Award for Outstanding Contribution in Education - Michael A. Granovsky, MD, FACEP

Council Meritorious Service Award - Sanford H. Herman, MD, MS, FACEP

Honorary Membership Award - Sally Winkelman

Outstanding Contribution in Research - Ahamed H. Idris, MD, FACEP

Outstanding Contribution in EMS - Craig A. Manifold, DO, FACEP (posthumous)

Other Award Recipients

Policy Pioneer Award – Jordan G. R. Celeste, MD, FACEP

Innovative Change in Practice Management Award

Community Emergency Medicine Excellence Award – Michael A. McGee, MD, MPH, FACEP

Diane K. Bollman Chapter Advocate Award – Stephanie Butler

Communications Lifetime Achievement Award - Stephen H. Anderson, MD, FACEP

Spokesperson of the Year Award - Robert Hancock Jr., DO, FACEP

ACEP Council Horizon Award - Hilary E. Fairbrother, MD, FACEP

ACEP Council Teamwork Award

ACEP Council Champion of Diversity and Inclusion – Rebecca B. Parker, MD, FACEP

ACEP Council Curmudgeon – David T. Overton, MD, FACEP

2021 Excellence in Bedside Teaching Award—Hardin Pantle, MD, FACEP

2021 Excellence in Bedside Teaching Award—Chidinma Nwakanma, MD

EM Wellness Center of Excellence Award

2021 Faculty Teaching Award—Heidi Baer, MD, FACEP

2021 Faculty Teaching Award—Eric Issacs

2021 Junior Faculty Teaching Award—Frosso Adamakos, MD, FACEP

2021 Junior Faculty Teaching Award—Harman Gill, MD

2021 Junior Faculty Teaching Award—Dina Wallin, MD, FACEP

[ Feedback → ]