James D. Mills Outstanding Contribution to Emergency Medicine Award


The James D. Mills Outstanding Contribution to Emergency Medicine Award is presented to an active, life, or honorary member for significant contributions to emergency medicine. This award is named after the late James D. Mills, Jr, MD, the second president of the College. Dr. Mills practiced emergency medicine in Alexandria, Virginia, for many years, and is commonly referred to as a designer of the "Alexandria Plan" for staffing emergency facilities with full-time practitioners of emergency medicine.

2021 Recipient
Augustine, James headshot (Mills).jpg
James J. Augustine, MD, FACEP

The Mills Award is a plaque featuring an etched portrait of the recipient. The recipient's name is inscribed on a master plaque at ACEP Headquarters.

Award Criteria

Any member of the College may nominate himself/herself or another member for this award. The nominee must be an active, life or honorary member of the College.

The nominee should have made a significant contribution to emergency medicine through a variety of avenues, including College committee service. Examples of significant contributions to the specialty include, but are not limited to: improved patient care delivery modes, cost containment, quality of care improvements, disaster planning, improved EMS organization, and public education. Recipients of this award are ineligible to receive awards in other categories of the Award Program.

Past Recipients

  • 1978 Reinald Leidelmeyer, MD
  • 1979 Mark Lindsey, MD
  • 1980 Astor Jenkins, MD
  • 1981 Judith Tintinalli, MD, MS, FACEP
  • 1982 Carl Jelenko, III, MD | John Rogers, MD
  • 1983 David Wagner, MD, FACEP
  • 1984 Peter Rosen, MD, FACEP
  • 1985 C.C. Roussi |John van de Leuv, MD, CM, FACEP
  • 1986 Ronald Stewart, MD
  • 1987 Ronald Krome, MD, FACEP
  • 1988 Harold Jayne, MD, FACEP | George Podgorny, MD
  • 1989 Joseph McKean, MD
  • 1990 Michael Bishop, MD, FACEP
  • 1991 Richard Stennes, MD, FACEP
  • 1992 Ronald Hellstern, MD, FACEP
  • 1993 Don B. Cohen, MD, FACEP
  • 1994 John Lumpkin, MD, FACEP | Michael Trainor, MD
  • 1995 Ellen Taliaferro, MD, FACEP
  • 1996 Gail Anderson, Sr., MD
  • 1997 Dighton Packard, MD, FACEP
  • 1998 Kenneth DeHart, MD, FACEP
  • 1999 Charlotte Yeh, MD, FACEP 2000 | Michael S. Weinstock, MD, FACEP
  • 2001 Douglas M. Hill, DO, FACEP
  • 2002 Joseph F. Waeckerle, MD, FACEP
  • 2003 James E. Hayes, MD, FACEP
  • 2004 Roger Barkin, MD, FACEP
  • 2005 Louise B. Andrew, MD, JD, FACEP
  • 2006 Toni A. Mitchell, MD, FACEP
  • 2007 Peter L. Sawchuk, MD
  • 2008 Richard F. Edlich, MD, FACEP
  • 2009 Bruce S. Auerbach, MD, FACEP
  • 2010 Charles F. Pattavina, MD, FACEP
  • 2011 John Skiendzielewski, MD, FACEP
  • 2012 C. James Holliman, MD, FACEP
  • 2013 Diana L. Fite, MD, FACEP
  • 2014 David P. Sklar, MD, FACEP
  • 2015 Robert W. Strauss, MD, FACEP
  • 2016 Lewis R. Goldfrank, MD, FACEP
  • 2017 Wesley A. Curry, MD, FACEP
  • 2018 Thom A. Mayer, MD, FACEP
  • 2019 Ramon W. Johnson, MD, FACEP
  • 2020 John J. Rogers, MD, CPE, FACEP
  • 2021 James J. Augustine, MD, FACEP

Entry Procedures

Any member may nominate a member by submitting a completed nomination form. Submit the nomination form, nominee's curriculum vitae, and up to 3 letters of support to Mary Ellen Fletcher, CPC, CEDC, at the ACEP Headquarters. Letters of support are greatly encouraged and are at the discretion of the nominator. Additionally, a nominee should have only one nomination whether from a chapter, entity (such as a committee or section), or individual. All entries must be submitted by the deadline for consideration by the Awards Committee.


The Awards Committee will judge the entries, with its recommendations subject to review by the ACEP Board of Directors. The decision of the Board is final, and the Board reserves the right to make no award if there are no nominees of sufficient merit. The award will be presented at the annual President's Awards Banquet.

[ Feedback → ]