Award for Outstanding Contribution in EMS


The Award for Outstanding Contribution in EMS is presented to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution in EMS of national significance or application.

2021 Recipient

Craig A. Manifold, DO, FACEP (posthumously)


The EMS Award features a Star of Life insignia with antique bronze casting. The recipient's name is inscribed on a master plaque at ACEP Headquarters.

Award Criteria

Any member of the College may nominate himself/herself or an individual that has made an outstanding contribution in the area of EMS of national significance and/or an outstanding contribution to the development, promotion, maturation or education of EMS on a state or national level with related national significance or application.

The individual may be an ACEP member physician with a minimum five years of membership, a non-member physician with at least 10 years of EMS activity, or a non-physician with at least 10 years of EMS activity.

Past Recipients

  • 1989 John Campbell, MD, FACEP
  • 1990 William Roush, MD
  • 1991 Paul Paris, MD, FACEP
  • 1992 Steven Davidson, MD, FACEP
  • 1993 Peter Pons, MD, FACEP
  • 1994 Stanley Zydlo, Jr., MD, FACEP
  • 1995 John C. Johnson, MD, FACEP
  • 1996 Richard Slevinski, MD
  • 1997 Daniel Storer, MD, FACEP
  • 1998 Jon Krohmer, MD, FACEP
  • 1999 Robert Swor, DO, FACEP
  • 2000 Richard C. Hunt, MD, FACEP
  • 2001 Marilyn J. Gifford, MD, FACEP
  • 2002 Ricardo Martinez, MD, FACEP
  • 2003 Mark C. Henry, MD, FACEP
  • 2004 James Page, Esq.
  • 2005 Paul E. Pepe, MD, FACEP
  • 2006 John C. Sacra, MD, FACEP
  • 2007 Robert R. Bass, MD, FACEP
  • 2008 Drew Dawson
  • 2009 John W. (Bill) Jermyn, DO, FACEP (posthumously)
  • 2010 Marvin A. Wayne, MD, FACEP
  • 2011 Debra G. Perina, MD, FACEP
  • 2012 Raymond L. Fowler, MD, FACEP
  • 2013 Daniel G. Hankins, MD, FACEP 
  • 2014 Marianne Gausche-Hill, MD, FACEP
  • 2015 James V. Dunford, Jr, MD, FACEP
  • 2016 Jullette M. Saussy, MD, FACEP
  • 2017 Salvatore Silvestri, MD
  • 2018 David E. Persse, MD, FACEP
  • 2019 Robert E. O'Connor, MD, FACEP
  • 2020 James M. Atkins, MD
  • 2021 Craig A. Manifold, DO, FACEP (posthumously)

Entry Procedures

Any member may nominate a member by submitting a completed nomination form. Submit the nomination form, nominee's curriculum vitae, and up to 3 letters of support to Mary Ellen Fletcher, CPC, CEDC, at the ACEP Headquarters. Letters of support are greatly encouraged and are at the discretion of the nominator. Additionally, a nominee should have only one nomination whether from a chapter, entity (such as a committee or section), or individual. All entries must be submitted by the deadline for consideration by the Awards Committee.


The Awards Committee will judge the entries, with its recommendations subject to review by the ACEP Board of Directors. The decision of the Board is final, and the Board reserves the right to make no award if there are no nominees of sufficient merit. The award will be presented at the EMS Section luncheon during the annual meeting. The recipient will also be recognized at the annual President's Awards Banquet.

[ Feedback → ]