Council Meritorious Service Award


The Council Meritorious Service Award is presented to a member of the College who has served as a councilor for at least three years and who, in that capacity, has made consistent contributions to the growth and maturation of the ACEP Council. The ACEP Council is the forum in which chapter and section of membership representatives both elect and provide guidance to the Board of Directors.

2024 Recipient

Thomas J. Sugarman, MD, FACEP


The Council Meritorious Service Award is a walnut plaque featuring the Council logo. The recipient's name is inscribed on a master plaque at ACEP headquarters.


Any member of the College may nominate a past or current councillor for this award. The nominee must be an active, life or honorary member of the College, and must have served as a councillor for at least three years.

The nominee's contributions to the Council should include, but are not limited to, one or more of the following: Steering Committee membership; reference committee participation; participation on other Council committees; resolution development and debate; longevity as a councillor; or service as a Council officer.

Past Recipients

1986  Jack Page, MD, FACEP
1987  Ronald Crowell, MD, FACEP
1988  Peter Fahrney, MD, FACEP
1989  Pamela Bensen, MD, MS, FACEP
1990  John Rupke, MD
1991  Tina Blair, MD, FACEP
1992  Stephen Cantrill, MD, FACEP
          Edward Draper, MD
          Paul Pomeroy, MD, FACEP
1993  Marvin Leibovich, MD, FACEP
1994  Peter Sawchuk, MD
1995  James Antinori, MD, FACEP
1996  Ronald Krome, MD, FACEP
1997  Michael Bresler, MD, FACEP
1998  Dennis Whitehead, MD, FACEP
1999  Brian F. Keaton, MD, FACEP
          David Overton, MD, FACEP
2000  Stephen Groth, MD, FACEP
          John R. Lumpkin, MD, FACEP
2001  Michael Hill, MD, FACEP
          Mark Lindsey, MD, FACEP
2002  Louise B. Andrew, MD, JD, FACEP
          Nick Jouriles, MD, FACEP
2003  Marsha D. Ford, MD, FACEP
2004  Arlo Weltge, MD, MPH, FACEP
2005  Peter J. Jacoby, MD, FACEP
          Robert C. Solomon, MD, FACEP
2006  Mark L. DeBard, MD, FACEP
2007  Diana Fite, MD, FACEP
2008  Charles Henrichs, MD, FACEP
2009  Robert T. Malinowski, MD, FACEP
2010  David E. Wilcox, MD, FACEP
2011  Marilyn J. Heine, MD, FACEP
2012  James D. Thompson, MD, FACEP
2013  Robert M. Roth, DO, FACEP
2014  Catherine A. Marco, MD, FACEP
2015  Andrew I. Bern, MD, FACEP
2016  Marco Coppola, DO, FACEP 
2017  Kelly Gray-Eurom, MD, MMM, FACEP
2018  James C. Mitchiner, MD, MPH, FACEP
2019  John H. Proctor, MD, MBA, FACEP
2020  Michael McCrea, MD, FACEP
2021  Sanford H. Herman, MD, FACEP
2022  James B. Aiken, MD, FACEP
2023  Gary R. Katz, MD, MBA, FACEP
2024  Thomas J. Sugarman, MD, FACEP 

Entry Procedures

Any member of the College may nominate a member by submitting an online nomination with the nominee's curriculum vitae, and up to three letters of support. Letters of support are greatly encouraged and are at the discretion of the nominator. Additionally, a nominee should have only one nomination whether from an individual or a component body. All entries must be submitted no later than March 12, 2024, for consideration by the Awards Committee. Receipt of each nomination will be confirmed by e-mail. Please follow up if you do not receive a confirmation. 


The Council Awards Committee, consisting of current and past councillors appointed by the Speaker, will judge the entries. The decision of the judges is final, and the judges reserve the right to make no award if there are no nominees of sufficient merit.

[ Feedback → ]