September 27, 2023

Diane Bollman Chapter Advocate Award - Shari Augustin

Augustin headshot cropped - Bollman.jpg

Shari Augustin served as the Executive Director of the Minnesota ACEP for 42 years. She began her career with the MN Chapter in 1981. At the time, she was also the Emergency Medicine Residency Program Manager at Hennepin County Medical Center when Dr. Ernest Ruiz and Dr. Joseph Clinton asked if she would be interested in helping grow the chapter in the role as executive director….and the story began.

Under her leadership, MNACEP grew to over 700 members. She led several successful CME conferences as well as legislative advocacy efforts, working with registered lobbyists and overseeing the chapter’s political action committee, establishing MNACEP as a flourishing chapter. She feels fortunate to have worked with amazing, talented physicians over the years.  

Shari grew up in the small rural town of St. James, MN with three sisters, one of them her identical twin. Their father worked as the postmaster and their mother was a teacher. She played drums in the high school band, sang in choir, and participated in gymnastics. After graduation, she attended the Minnesota School of Business where she received a degree in Small Business Management. She married her high school sweetheart, Dave, who is also an identical twin. They have two children, a daughter Jada who owns a successful business with her husband, and a son, Ian, who is an anesthesiologist with the Mayo Clinic. She has 4 beautiful grandchildren who are the joys of her life. Shari is an avid golfer and pickleball player. She also enjoys vacationing in northern MN with family and traveling. She spends winters in Estero, FL where they have a home, but her heart will always be on the lakes, and beautiful farm country of MN with family.

Shari is currently the Administrative Officer of the Minnesota 1 Disaster Medical Assistance Team, part of the National Disaster Medical System under HHS, a position she has held for 20 years. She has been on many deployments to federal disasters as well as covering federal events.

About This Award

The Diane K. Bollman Chapter Advocate Award is presented to a current or recent (within the past 12 months) ACEP chapter executive or chapter staff member who has made a significant contribution to advancing emergency care and the objectives of an ACEP chapter and the College. The award is named after Diane K. Bollman, who served as the executive director of the Michigan College of Emergency Physicians for 25 years and was an honorary member of ACEP. She represents the archetype of chapter executive advocacy and leadership, personally and professionally.

[ Feedback → ]