Judith E. Tintinalli Award for Outstanding Contribution in Education


The Judith E. Tintinalli Award for Outstanding Contribution in Education is presented to an ACEP member who has made a significant contribution to the educational aspects of the specialty.

2023 Award Recipient

Stuart P. Swadron, MD, FACEP


The Education Award features the recipient's name and ACEP logo on sterling agate and gray marble diamante award. The recipient's name is inscribed on a master plaque at ACEP Headquarters.


Any member of the College may nominate a member for this award. The nominee must be a member of the College.

The nominee should have made an outstanding contribution to academic emergency medicine. Examples might include: advancement of emergency medicine through educational activities, truly outstanding teacher who has made a major educational impact on the specialty, development of teaching tools (books, other publications, audiovisuals, teaching approaches), outstanding role in emergency medicine resident education, and dedicated commitment to and action toward high-quality emergency medicine education.

Past Recipients

  • 1989 Robert Dailey, MD, FACEP
  • 1990 Judith Tintinalli, MD, MS,FACEP
  • 1991 Ernest Ruiz, MD, FACEP
  • 1992 Douglas Rund, MD
  • 1993 W. Richard Bukata, MD | John Moorhead, MD, FACEP
  • 1994 Peter Rosen, MD, FACEP
  • 1995 Robert Hockberger, MD, FACEP
  • 1996 Jerome Hoffman, MD, FACEP
  • 1997 Vincent Marcovchick, MD, FACEP
  • 1998 Allan Wolfson, MD, FACEP
  • 1999 Paul Auerbach, MD, FACEP | Robert Strauss, Jr., MD, FACEP
  • 2000 John A. Marx, MD, FACEP
  • 2001 Donald M. Yealy, MD, FACEP
  • 2002 Richard M. Cantor, MD, FACEP
  • 2003 Diane M. Birnbaumer, MD, FACEP
  • 2004 Marianne Gausche-Hill, MD, FACEP
  • 2005 Glenn C. Hamilton, MD
  • 2006 Gloria J. Kuhn, DO, FACEP
  • 2007 Ron M. Walls, MD, FACEP
  • 2008 Earl Reisdorff, MD, FACEP | Brian Zink, MD, FACEP
  • 2009 Mary Jo Wagner, MD, FACEP
  • 2010 Alfred D. Sacchetti, MD, FACEP
  • 2011 Cherri D. Hobgood, MD, FACEP
  • 2012 David S. Howes, MD, FACEP
  • 2013 Amal Mattu, MD, FACEP | Jeffrey Tabas, MD, FACEP
  • 2014 William K. Mallon, MD, FACEP
  • 2015 Mel Herbert, MD, FACEP
  • 2016 James R. Roberts, MD, FACEP
  • 2017 Francis L. Counselman, MD, FACEP
  • 2018 Corey M. Slovis, MD, FACEP
  • 2019 William Ken Milne, MD
  • 2020 Tracy G. Sanson, MD, FACEP
  • 2021 Michael S. Beeson, MD, FACEP 
  • 2021 Michael A. Granovsky, MD, FACEP
  • 2022 Peter M. DeBlieux, MD, FACEP 
  • 2023 Stuart P. Swadron, MD, FACEP


Entry Procedures

Any member of the College may nominate a member by submitting a completed nomination form. Submit the nomination form, nominee's curriculum vitae, and up to 3 letters of support through the online nomination form located on the ACEP website. Letters of support are greatly encouraged and are at the discretion of the nominator. Additionally, a nominee should have only one nomination whether from an individual or a component body. All entries must be submitted no later than March 12, 2024, for consideration by the Awards Committee. Receipt of each nomination will be confirmed by e-mail. Please follow up if you do not receive a confirmation.


The Awards Committee will judge the entries, with its recommendations subject to review by the ACEP Board of Directors. The decision of the Board is final, and the Board reserves the right to make no award if there are no nominees of sufficient merit. 

[ Feedback → ]