Lou Graff Award for Excellence in Observation Medicine


The Lou Graff Award for Excellence in Observation Medicine Award recognizes emergency physicians who have made a significant contribution to the field of observation medicine within emergency medicine.

2024 Recipient

Graff Obs-Mace headshot cropped.jpg
Sharon E. Mace, MD, FAAP, FACEP


The award features the recipient’s name and the ACEP logo. The recipient’s name is inscribed on a master plaque at ACEP Headquarters.

Past Recipients

2023  Michael A. Ross, MD, FACEP
2024  Sharon E. Mace, MD, FAAP, FACEP


Any member of the College, or any chapter, section, or committee may nominate a member for this award that has made a significant contribution to observation medicine. Nominees must be an ACEP member for at least five years.


The Observation Medicine Section will evaluate all nominations submitted by the deadline. Nominees should have made an outstanding contribution in at least one of these areas:

  • Demonstrates a commitment to the education of health care professionals in observation medicine.
  • Contributes substantive thought leadership to the field of observation medicine, through a variety of methods including, but not limited to: peer-reviewed publications, leadership in national societies, invited lectures, presentations at national meetings, textbook chapters, advocacy through government agencies, etc.
  • Offers support selflessly to others as a resource, reference, and subject-matter expert in observation medicine.
  • Mentors future leaders in observation medicine by identifying, recruiting, and supporting rising observation medicine stars.

Entry Procedures

Any ACEP member who wishes to nominate a candidate should complete a nomination form. Submit the nomination form, nominee’s curriculum vitae, and up to three letters of support through the online nomination form located on the ACEP website. Letters of support are greatly encouraged and are at the discretion of the nominator. Additionally, a nominee should have only one nomination, whether from an individual or from a chapter, section, or committee. All entries must be submitted for consideration no later than the publicized deadline. Receipt of each nomination will be confirmed by email. Please follow up if you do not receive a confirmation.

[ Feedback → ]