John A. Rupke Legacy Award


The John A. Rupke Legacy Award is presented to a current College member for outstanding lifetime contributions to the College. In recognition of longevity and unwavering dedication to the College, the Legacy award is given in honor of John A. Rupke, MD, one of the initial founding members of the College.

2023 Recipient

J. Mark Meredith, MD, FACEP

The Rupke Award is a plaque featuring the ACEP logo and name of the recipient. The recipient’s name is inscribed on a master plaque at ACEP Headquarters. By virtue of receiving this award, the recipient is not required to pay dues or registration fees for the Scientific Assembly.


The nominee must have been a member of the College for more than 25 years, and during that time have served the College as an active leader making sustained contributions either in the local, state or national emergency medicine communities as a consensus builder, with humanitarianism, and as an advocate for the profession. The member must have also demonstrated exceptional commitment of time and dedication to emergency medicine and to improving the care of emergency patients. This devotion and persistence over such a span of time exemplifies the true spirit of what has shaped our specialty and infused it with enthusiasm and unstoppable drive. Recipients of this award are bestowed our appreciation and gratitude for their contribution in furthering our goal as a College to serve our members and the patients for whom they provide care. Previous recipients of the Wiegenstein or Mills awards are not eligible to receive this award.

Past Recipients

2010   Pamela P. Bensen, MD, MS, FACEP
2011   Sanford H. Herman, MD, FACEP
2012   Lawrence M. Lewis, MD, FACEP
2013   Paul A. Pomeroy, MD, FACEP
2014   Arlo F. Weltge, MD, MPH, FACEP
2015   Stephen V. Cantrill, MD, FACEP
2016   Kathleen Cowling, DO, MS, FACEP
2017   A. Compton Broders, III, MD, FACEP
2018   David E. Wilcox, MD, FACEP
2019   Juan A. Gonzalez-Sanchez, MD, FACEP
2020   Peter M. Fahrney, MD, FACEP(E)
2021   Jeffrey D. Bettinger, MD, FACEP
2022   Louis J. Ling, MC, FACEP
2023   J. Mark Meredith, MD, FACEP

Entry Procedures
Any member of the College may nominate a member by submitting a completed nomination form. Submit the nomination form, nominee's curriculum vitae, and up to 3 letters of support through the online nomination form located on the ACEP website. Letters of support are greatly encouraged and are at the discretion of the nominator. Additionally, a nominee should have only one nomination whether from an individual or a component body. All entries must be submitted no later than March 12, 2024, for consideration by the Awards Committee. Receipt of each nomination will be confirmed by e-mail. Please follow up if you do not receive a confirmation.

The Awards Committee will judge the entries, with its recommendations subject to review by the ACEP Board of Directors. The decision of the Board is final, and the Board reserves the right to make no award if there are no nominees of sufficient merit

[ Feedback → ]