Innovative Change in Practice Management Award

Award Nomination Form

Innovative Change in Practice Management Award Nomination Form


This annual award is given to an emergency physician who has developed an innovative process, solution, technology or product to solve a significant problem in the practice of emergency medicine.

2021 Recipient

Matthew Rill, MD, FACEP
Rill, Matthew (Innovative Change).jpg


The Innovative Change in Practice Management Award features the recipient’s name and the ACEP logo. The recipient name is inscribed on a master plaque at ACEP Headquarters. The recipient will also be recognized on ACEP’s Web site and included in other ACEP communications as part of the annual award recognition process.


To be considered for the award, the nominee will have developed an innovation through which the practice of emergency medicine is improved by its implementation. The innovation must improve the efficiency, patient safety and/or quality of care in the emergency department and be easily transferrable to other emergency department settings and sustainable over the long term.

Past Recipients

  • 2019 Edward N. Barthell, MD, FACEP 
  • 2020 Rahul Sharma, MD, MBA, FACEP

Entry Procedures

Any member, chapter, section or component body of ACEP may nominate a member for this award. The nomination form must be submitted by the deadline with supporting documentation about the innovation’s development, implementation and impact on emergency medicine. Letters of support are greatly encouraged and are at the discretion of the nominator. The nominee’s CV must be provided and up to two letters of support can be submitted to support the nomination.  All entries must be submitted no later than March 1, 2020 for consideration. Receipt of each nomination will be confirmed by email.


The Emergency Medicine Practice Committee (EMPC) or a subcommittee thereof will judge the entries, with its recommendations subject to review by the ACEP Board of Directors. The decision of the Board is final, and the Board reserves the right to make no award if there are not nominees of sufficient merit. The Board may also decide to grant the award to more than one individual. The award will be presented at the Emergency Medicine Practice Committee meeting during the ACEP annual meeting. The recipient will also be recognized at the annual President’s Awards Gala.

[ Feedback → ]