Colin C. Rorrie, Jr, PhD Award for Excellence in Health Policy


The Colin C. Rorrie, Jr, PhD Award for Excellence in Health Policy is presented to a member who has made a significant contribution to achieving the health policy objectives of the College and/or who has demonstrated outstanding skills, talent, and commitment as an administrative or political leader. Dr. Rorrie served the College as Executive Director from 1982 to 2003 and was instrumental in encouraging and guiding the Board of Directors to develop and implement a strategic planning process with focused priority objectives. Additionally, he was instrumental in the development of ACEP's Washington office and in elevating the stature of emergency medicine's advocacy efforts. He understood the importance of ACEP's participation in a public policy agenda as it applies to emergency medicine and healthcare.

2023 Recipient
Pines headshot2 - Rorrie.jpg
Jesse Pines, MD, MBA, FACEP

The Rorrie Award is a cherry plaque with a gold back plate, black center plate, and a gold brass top plate etched with the ACEP logo and the recipient's name. The recipient's name is inscribed on a master plaque at ACEP Headquarters.


Any member of the College may nominate a member who has rendered outstanding service to the College or to the medical profession.

The nominee should have made an outstanding contribution to medical health policy or administration by: significantly helping to advance a health policy agenda supportive to medicine and medical care; or development or unceasing support of legislation and/or regulations that enhance access to emergency medicine in particular and healthcare in general; or exemplary performance as a physician administrator in medicine and health care; or making outstanding contributions to organized medicine.

Past Recipients

  • 2004 Colin C. Rorrie, Jr., PhD, CAE
  • 2005 Peter Viccellio, MD, FACEP
  • 2006 David M. Siegel, MD, JD, FACEP
  • 2007 Robert W. Kottman, MD, FACEP
  • 2008 Dennis M. Beck, MD, FACEP
  • 2009 John R. Lumpkin, MD, FACEP
  • 2010 R. Myles Riner, MD, FACEP
  • 2011 Daniel J. Sullivan, MD, JD, FACEP
  • 2012 Todd B. Taylor, MD, FACEP
  • 2013 Wesley Fields, MD, FACEP
  • 2014 Lynne D. Richardson, MD, FACEP
  • 2015 James C. Mitchiner, MD, MPH, FACEP
  • 2016 Marilyn J. Heine, MD, FACEP
  • 2017 Nathaniel R. Schlicher, MD, JD, MBA, FACEP 
  • 2018 L. Anthony Cirillo, MD, FACEP
  • 2019 Peter J. Jacoby, MD, FACEP 
  • 2020 Steven J. Stack, MD, MBA, FACEP
  • 2021 Susan M. Nedza, MD, MBA, FACEP
  • 2022 Jennifer L. Wiler, MD, MBA, FACEP
  • 2023 Jesse Pines, MD, MBA, FACEP


Entry Procedures

Any member of the College may nominate a member by submitting a completed nomination form. Submit the nomination form, nominee's curriculum vitae, and up to 3 letters of support through the online nomination form located on the ACEP website. Letters of support are greatly encouraged and are at the discretion of the nominator. Additionally, a nominee should have only one nomination whether from an individual or a component body. All entries must be submitted no later than March 12, 2024, for consideration by the Awards Committee. Receipt of each nomination will be confirmed by e-mail. Please follow up if you do not receive a confirmation. 


The Awards Committee will judge the entries, with its recommendations subject to review by the ACEP Board of Directors. The decision of the Board is final and the Board reserves the right to make no award if there are no nominees of sufficient merit.

[ Feedback → ]