Award for Outstanding Contribution in Research


The Award for Outstanding Contribution in Research is presented to an ACEP member who has made a significant contribution to research in emergency medicine.

2024 Recipient

Robert M. Rodriguez, MD

The Research Award features the recipient's name and ACEP logo on a sterling agate and gray marble diamante award. The recipient's name is inscribed on a master plaque at ACEP Headquarters.


Any member of the College may nominate a member for this award. The nominee must be a member of the College.

The nominee should have made an outstanding contribution to research in emergency medicine as demonstrated in accomplishments. Examples might include: outstanding research, research innovation, published original research, or a major and lasting research contribution.

Past Recipients

  • 1986 James Niemann, MD, FACEP
  • 1987 Richard Nowak, MD, MBA, FACEP
  • 1988 Blaine White, MD
  • 1990 Charles Brown, MD, FACEP
  • 1992 William Spivey, MD (deceased)
  • 1993 Gabor Kelen, MD, FACEP
  • 1994 Gary Krause, MD, MS, FACEP
  • 1995 W. Brian Gibler, MD, FACEP
  • 1996 Norman Abramson, MD, FACEP
  • 1997 Michelle Biros, MD, FACEP
  • 1998 Charles Emerman, MD
  • 1999 Charles Pollack, Jr., MA, MD, FACEP
  • 2000 Charles Cairns, MD, FACEP
  • 2001 Judd E. Hollander, MD, FACEP
  • 2002 Edward A. Panacek, MD, MPH, FACEP
  • 2003 Arthur B. Sanders, MD, FACEP
  • 2004 William Barsan, MD
  • 2005 Emanuel P. Rivers, MD
  • 2006 Jeffrey A. Kline, MD, FACEP | Adam J. Singer, MD, FACEP
  • 2007 Robert W. Neumar, MD, FACEP
  • 2008 Tom Aufderheide, MD, FACEP
  • 2009 Donald M. Yealy, MD, FACEP
  • 2010 Roger J. Lewis, MD, FACEP
  • 2011 Nathan Kuppermann, MD, MPH, FACEP
  • 2012 Ian G. Stiell, MD, MS
  • 2013 Brian J. O'Neil, MD, FACEP
  • 2014 Lance B. Becker, MD, FACEP
  • 2015 Clifton W. Callaway, MD, PhD, FACEP | Daniel W. Spaite, MD, FACEP
  • 2016 Carlos A. Camargo, Jr., MD, DrPH, FACEP
  • 2017 Edward C. Jauch, MD, FACEP
  • 2018 Lynne D. Richardson, MD, FACEP
  • 2019 Rebecca M. Cunningham, MD, FACEP | Gail D'Onofrio, MD, FACEP
  • 2020 Alan E. Jones, MD, FACEP
  • 2021 Ahamed H. Idris, MD, FACEP
  • 2022 Deborah B Diercks, MD, MSc, FACEP
  • 2022 Kevin Ward, MD, FACEP 
  • 2023 Lewis S. Nelson, MD, FACEP
  • 2024 Robert M. Rodriguez, MD

Entry Procedures

Any member of the College may nominate a member by submitting a completed nomination form. Submit the nomination form, nominee's curriculum vitae, and up to 3 letters of support through the online nomination form located on the ACEP website. Letters of support are greatly encouraged and are at the discretion of the nominator. Additionally, a nominee should have only one nomination whether from an individual or a component body. All entries must be submitted no later than March 12, 2024, for consideration by the Awards Committee. Receipt of each nomination will be confirmed by e-mail. Please follow up if you do not receive a confirmation.


The Awards Committee will judge the entries, with its recommendations subject to review by the ACEP Board of Directors. The decision of the Board is final, and the Board reserves the right to make no award if there are no nominees of sufficient merit.

[ Feedback → ]