Council Horizon Award


Presented to an individual within the first five years of council service who demonstrates outstanding contributions and participation in Council activities.  The award is given as needed, not necessarily annually.

2024 Recipients

Kelly E. Quinley, MD

Sophia Spadafore, MD



The award is a “star” trophy inscribed with the name of the recipient.


The nominee should have made an outstanding contribution to the Council.

Past Recipients

2007     John Milne, MD, FACEP
2008     Angela Siler Fisher, MD, FACEP
2008     Catherine Marco, MD, FACEP
2009     Jeremy Rogers, MD
             William Mallon, MD, FACEP
2010     Abhi Mehrotra, MD, FACEP
2010     Jennifer Wiler, MD, FACEP
2011     Gary Katz, MD, MBA, FACEP
2011     Christopher Weaver, MD, FACEP
2012     Heather Farley, MD, FACEP
2012     Nathaniel Schlicher, MD, JD
2014     Michael McCrea, MD, FACEP
2015     Enrique Enguidanos, MD, FACEP
2016     Alison Haddock, MD, FACEP
2016     Liam T. Yore, MD, FACEP
2017     Laura Medford-Davis, MD
2018     Lisa Maurer, MD, FACEP
2019     Zachary J. Jarou, MD
2020     Theresa Tran, MD, FACEP
2021     Hilary E. Fairbrother, MD, FACEP
2022     Scott H. Pasichow, MD, MPH
2022     Michael Ruzek, DO, FACEP
2023     George RJ Sontag, MD
2024     Kelly E Quinley, MD
            Sophia Spadafore, MD

Entry Procedures

Any member may nominate a Council participant, group of councillors, or recognized component body by submitting an online nomination with a brief curriculum vitae highlighting Council service, and up to three letters of support. Letters of support are greatly encouraged and are at the discretion of the nominator. Additionally, a nominee should have only one nomination whether from a chapter, entity (such as a committee or section), or individual. All entries must be submitted no later than March 12, 2024, for consideration by the Council Awards Committee. Please follow up if you do not receive a confirmation.


The Council Awards Committee, consisting of current and past councillors appointed by the Speaker, will judge the entries. The decision of the judges is final, and the judges reserve the right to make no award if there are no nominees of sufficient merit. The award will be presented at the annual Council Awards Luncheon.

[ Feedback → ]