The ACEP Council consists of members representing ACEP’s 53 chartered chapters (50 states, Puerto Rico, the District of Columbia and Government Services), its sections of membership, the Association of Academic Chairs in Emergency Medicine (AACEM), the Council of Emergency Medicine Residency Directors (CORD), the Emergency Medicine Residents' Association (EMRA) and the Society for Academic Emergency Medicine (SAEM).

Each year the Council elects members to the Board of Directors and ensures "grassroots" involvement in the democratic decision-making process.

The Council is a deliberative body that meets once a year for two days in conjunction with the College’s annual Scientific Assembly. The Council votes on resolutions which may be introduced by any member (as long as there are at least two people who co-sign the introduction of the resolution). The Council is also the body that votes on proposed changes to the Bylaws.

Whether it is a resolution or a Bylaws amendment, actions of the Council are also voted on by the Board of Directors (Board).

View ACEP’s Leadership Event Schedule here

Submit Testimony on the 2021 Council Resolutions

Comments from the online testimony will be used to develop the preliminary Reference Committee reports. The preliminary reports will be the starting point for the live Reference Committee debate during the Council meeting in Boston on Saturday, October 23. Asynchronous testimony on all resolutions will close at 12:00 noon Central time on Thursday, October 14. Comments posted as online testimony are prohibited from being copied and pasted as comments in other forums and/or used in a manner in which the comments could be taken out of context. By participating in this online testimony, you hereby acknowledge and agree to abide by ACEP's Meeting Conduct Policy.

Pro Tip: For easier navigation of the compendium and e-notebook below, we suggest you download the PDF and open it with a PDF reader (ie: Adobe Acrobat) instead of viewing it within your browser. This allows you to navigate via bookmarks and tabs to get to the section you want much faster.

Council Officers

Speaker: Kelly Gray-Eurom, MD, MMM, FACEP

Vice-Speaker: Melissa W. Costello, MD

Council Information

Actions on Council Resolutions

Campaign Rules (PDF)

Councillors (PDF)

Handbook (PDF)

Councillor Descriptions

Council Committees

Council Standing Rules (PDF)

Guidelines for Writing Resolutions

Council Awards

[ Feedback → ]