October 17, 2022

Emergency Physicians Elected to National Academy of Medicine

Multiple emergency physicians are among the newly elected members of the National Academy of Medicine (NAM). According to the announcement, “election to the Academy is considered one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine and recognizes individuals who have demonstrated outstanding professional achievement and commitment to service.”
As recognized leaders in the field, these emergency physicians can expect to play a role in the NAM (originally known as the Institute of Medicine) mission to inform objective analysis and solve complex problems. The new NAM members will also work with colleagues across the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine to encourage education and research and increase public understanding of science, technology, engineering, math and medicine. 

ACEP members newly-elected to NAM: 

Opeolu Makanju Adeoye, MD, FACEP, professor and chair, department of emergency medicine, Washington University, St. Louis

For his seminal work on national thrombolysis treatment rates for stroke and population access to thrombolysis and thrombectomy that identified disparities in stroke treatment rates and access to treatment. He led the American Stroke Association’s Recommendations on Establishing Stroke Systems of Care that has had significant health policy impact.
Yvette Calderon, MD, MS, FACEP, chair of emergency medicine, Mount Sinai Beth Israel; and professor of emergency medicine, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, New York City

For outstanding contributions incorporating public health and primary care interventions in the emergency department for underserved communities, including HIV/hepatitis C testing, counseling, and treatment programs in New York City, now replicated internationally, partnering emergency departments, health departments, and community organizations; and for substantial efforts to augment diversity and inclusion in our medical workforce.
Marie-Carmelle Elie, MD, FACEP, FCCM, endowed professor and chair, department of emergency medicine, University of Alabama at Birmingham Heersink School of Medicine, Birmingham

For being the first African American woman to chair an academic emergency department in the nation, representing the first scholar at the crossroads of the emergency medicine, critical care, and palliative care disciplines to achieve such recognition in North America.

Megan L. Ranney, MD, MPH, FACEP, Warren Alpert Endowed Professor of Emergency Medicine and deputy dean, School of Public Health, and director, Brown-Lifespan Center for Digital Health, Brown University, Providence, R.I.

For recognition as a national public health leader and communicator who has brought deeper understanding of public health challenges and who has changed public health paradigms through technology-based interventions to reduce violence (particularly firearm injury), mental illness, substance use, and infectious disease risk.

[ Feedback → ]