911 Network Members of the Year

These ACEP members went above and beyond to advocate for the emergency medicine and patients on the federal level.

2023 - Brad Uren, MD, FACEP

As Chair of the ACEP Federal Government Affairs Committee, a member of the NEMPAC Board of Trustees, and inaugural member of the ACEP Advocacy Leaders program, Dr. Uren is a leader in the development and advocacy of sound legislative policy on behalf of emergency physicians and patients. Dr. Uren is a frequent visitor to legislative offices in Lansing, Michigan and Washington, DC. He has testified before the Michigan Legislature on issues affecting public health and has authored opinion pieces and given media interviews on issues such as impaired driving, cardiac arrest, and injury prevention. He has worked with the State of Michigan on Medicaid patient access to emergency departments and was instrumental in the establishment of MEDIC, a Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan collaborative to improve emergency department care.

His mission to educate and empower medical students and residents at the University of Michigan Medical School in health policy and political engagement has brought a new generation of emerging leaders and advocates into medicine.

2022 - John Corker, MD, FACEP

Dr. Corker was recognized for his outstanding efforts to engage with policymakers and the public on behalf of emergency physicians and patients. As Immediate Past Chair of ACEP's Young Physicians Section and liaison to the ACEP Council, he encourages his colleagues to incorporate advocacy into their practice and everyday life to protect and advance the future of the specialty. He's a vocal advocate for issues that affect emergency physicians, from workforce pressures to COVID-19 stressors. His thoughtful social media commentary increases awareness of key issues while encouraging many young and emerging leaders in emergency medicine. Outreach and service have come naturally for Dr. Corker since medical school, when he and three fellow students created Radio Rounds, a podcast that eventually inspired EMRA*Cast and YPS's webcast, EM LIFERS. He also serves on ACEP's Federal Government Affairs Committee and ACEP's Strategic Planning Work Group. 

2021 - Angela Gardner, MD, FACEP

In a year in which strong advocacy for emergency medicine and patients was more important than ever, Dr. Gardner led the challenge of pivoting to virtual engagement for both political and grassroots communication with legislators. Her work in educating new candidates and engaging with veteran Senate and House leaders on issues of importance to emergency medicine, such as COVID-19 relief, surprise medical billing and mental health resources for health care workers, became the gold standard. Dr. Gardner is also recognized for her continued thoughtful participation and guidance to both the NEMPAC Board of Trustees and the ACEP Federal Government Affairs Committee.

2020 - Carl Heine, MD, FACEP

Dr. Heine was recognized for his long-standing commitment to advocacy on behalf of emergency medicine and patients and his ability to encourage and recruit ACEP member and resident advocates in both WA state and AK. As chair of the ACEP Federal Government Affairs Committee from 2018-2020, his leadership was instrumental in prioritizing ACEP’s legislative agenda and guiding critical policymaking decisions when ACEP’s advocacy pivoted to COVID-19 and virtual efforts.

2019 - Don Stader, MD, FACEP
2018 - 
Jonathan Heidt, MD & Anne Zink, MD
2017 - 
Matthew J Watson, MD, FACEP
2016 - 
Jasmeet Singh Dhaliwal, MD, MPH
 - Arlo F Weltge, MD, MPH, FACEP
2014 - Ryan Stanton, MD, FACEP
2013 - Andrew I Bern, MD, FACEP 
2012 - Bret Frey, MD, FACEP & Alexander Max Rosenau, DO, FACEP 
2011 - Alison Haddock, MD, FACEP & Richard Preston Wendell, MD, FACEP
2010 - Nathaniel R Schlicher, MD, JD
2009 - William Felegi, DO, FACEP & David Wilcox, MD, FACEP
2008 - John Bibb, MD, FACEP & William Felegi, DO, FACEP
2006 - Raymond Hart, MD, MPH, FACEP
2007 - Raymond Hart, MD, MPH, FACEP
2005 - Carlos Sanchez, MD
2004 - Cynthia Soghikian Wolfe, MD, FACEP
2003 - David Hexter, MD, FACEP
2002 - Marilyn Heine, MD, FACEP
2001 - Michael Rapp, MD, FACEP
2000 - Mary Jo Wagner, MD, FACEP
1999- Susan Nedza, MD, MBA, FACEP


[ Feedback → ]