October 12, 2021

Get to Know the ACEP Board, Council Candidates

As young physicians, we know that those elected into leadership roles within the College have influence over strategy and policy. During this pivotal time for our specialty, it's important that we do our research on candidates so we can be informed ACEP members. 

Let's start with the ACEP leadership roles up for election:

The ACEP President-Elect role is pretty self explanatory. The next president-elect will serve a one year term in that role before becoming the ACEP president in Oct. 2022. ACEP presidents serve a one-year term. President-elect is elected by the ACEP Council.

This year, we have two candidates for president-elect:

  • Christopher S. Kang, MD, FACEP, FAWM
  • Aisha T. Terry, MD, MPH, FACEP

The ACEP Board of Directors provides day-to-day management and direction to ACEP and serves as its policymaking body. Board members are elected by the ACEP Council and serve three-year terms, with a limit of two consecutive terms. The ACEP Board of Directors represents a wide variety of backgrounds and work experiences in emergency medicine. 

For the upcoming election, we have eight candidates running for the Board of Directors:

  • L. Anthony Cirillo, MD FACEP
  • William B. Felegi, DO, FACEP
  • John T. Finnell, II, MD, MSC, FACEP
  • Rami Khoury, MD, FACEP
  • Heidi C. Knowles, MD, FACEP
  • Michael Lozano Jr., MD, FACEP
  • Henry Pitzele, MD, FACEP
  • Joseph Twanmoh, MD, FACEP

The Council elects the Board of Directors, Council officers, and the president-elect of the College. The Council shares responsibility with the Board of Directors for initiating policy, and councillors shape the strategic plan of the College by providing comments on behalf of the constituencies they represent. The Council also provides a participatory environment where policies already established or under consideration by the Board of Directors can be debated.

So that the Board of Directors can manage change for the good of the membership, the specialty, and the public, the Council serves as a sounding board and communication network. Councillors are expected to be aware of environmental changes, see association goals as essential to the continued vitality of the specialty, and understand the rationale behind decisions made by the Board of Directors.

The Council officers (speaker and vice speaker) chair the annual meeting and participate in all meetings of the Board of Directors as representatives of the Council.

In 2020, there are two candidates for Council Vice Speaker:

  • Melissa W. Costello, MD, MS, FACEP
  • Kurtis A. Mayz, JD, MD, MBA, FACEP

And one candidate running unopposed for Council Speaker:

  • Kelly Gray-Eurom, MD, MMM, FACEP

Learn More About the Candidates
Your handbook to all of the candidates is inside the Council e-Notebook. The best way to use the e-Notebook is to download the PDF and then open it with a PDF reader like Adobe Acrobat or similar so that you can navigate with tabs and bookmarks. (Trust us: This is much easier than opening the PDF in your browser and just scrolling to find what you want!)

Tab 18: President Elect Candidate Info
Tab 19: Board of Director Candidate Info
Tab 20: Council Speaker and Vice Speaker Info

For each candidate you will find platform questions, campaign flyers, CVs, endorsements and more. There is a wealth of information once you know where to look!


[ Feedback → ]