icon icon icon icon icon icon icon icon icon icon
Due to high demand, the GEDA accreditation process is currently four to five months. Next application cut-off date: July 11, 2019. Please note price increases go into effect on July 1, 2019.

Geriatric Emergency Department Accreditation Program

GEDA was developed by leaders in emergency medicine to ensure that our older patients receive well-coordinated, quality care at the appropriate level at every ED encounter.

Apply Today! 

Seniors make contact with the health care system at many points – perhaps none as frequently or as importantly as the emergency department.

Populations around the World are living longer now than ever before and in the US it is estimated that 10,000 Baby Boomers are turning 65 every day. This demographic shift brings challenges to healthcare systems as older adults visit emergency departments (EDs) at comparatively higher rates than non-seniors, often present with multiple chronic conditions, are at increased risk of polypharmacy, and suffer from complex social and physical challenges. Seniors make contact with the health care system at many points – perhaps none as frequently or as importantly as the emergency department.

The concept of a geriatric emergency department has developed in the past decade as hospitals recognize that one size ED care does not fit all. Older people in the ED have presentations, needs, dispositions, and outcomes that are quite specific to them. A geriatric ED may be either a separate space designated for older adults, or more likely, the integration of best practices for older adults into an existing ED.

Geriatric EDs embrace a variety of best practices including:

  • Ensuring geriatric-focused education and interdisciplinary staffing
  • Providing standardized approaches to care that address common geriatric issues
  • Ensuring optimal transitions of care from the ED to other settings (inpatient, home, community-based care, rehabilitation, long-term care)
  • Promoting geriatric-focused quality improvement and enhancements of the physical environment and supplies

Becoming a geriatric ED will improve the care provided to older people in your ED and ensure the resources to provide that care are available. It also signals to the public that your institution is focused on the highest standards of care for your community’s older citizens.

To learn more about geriatric ED best practices, four national geriatric and emergency medicine organizations collaboratively developed and endorsed geriatric ED guidelines that outline recommendations for optimal geriatric emergency care.

Accredited Geriatric EDs
  • AdventHealth Zephryhills (FL)
  • Ascension Columbia St Marys Hospital Ozaukee (WI)
  • Ascension Elmbrook Memorial Campus (WI)
  • Aurora Medical Center of Oshkosh (WI)
  • Aurora Sheboygan Memorial Medical Center (WI)
  • Aurora Sinai Medical Center (WI)
  • Aurora St. Luke’s South Shore Medical Center (WI)
  • Aurora West Allis Medical Center (WI)
  • Banner University Medical Center Phoenix (AZ)
  • Bridgeport Hospital Connecticut (CT)
  • California Pacific Medical Center - Mission Bernal Campus (CA)
  • Carle Foundation Hospital (IL)
  • Carroll Hospital Center (MD)
  • Chino Valley Medical Center (CA)
  • Covenant Medical Center (MI)
  • Dupont Hospital (IA)
  • The Gary and Mary West Emergency Department at University of California, San Diego Health, La Jolla (CA)
  • Grand View Hospital (PA)
  • Highland Hospital (NY)
  • Holy Cross Hospital (FL)
  • Hospital De La Santa Creu (Sant Pau, Spain)
  • JPS Health Network (TX)
  • Kuakini Medical Center (HI)
  • Lenox Hill Health Plex (NY)
  • Littleton Adventist Hospitals (CO)
  • Longs Peak Hospital (CO)
  • Louis Stokes Cleveland Veterans Affairs Medical Center (OH)
  • McKenzie Health System (MI)
  • Missouri Baptist Medical Center (MO)
  • Molokai General Hospital (HI)
  • Montclair Hospital Medical Center (CA)
  • Morristown Medical Center (NJ)
  • The Mount Sinai Hospital (NY)
  • North Hawaii Community Hospital (HI)
  • North Shore University (NY)
  • Northwestern Memorial Hospital (IL)
  • The Ohio State Wexner Medical Center (OH)
  • Queen's Medical Center (HI)
  • Queen's Medical Center West O'Ahu (HI)
  • Samaritan North Lincoln Hospital (OR)
  • San Dimas Community Hospital (CA)
  • Sibley Memorial Hospital (DC)
  • Spectrum Health Blodgett Hospital (MI)
  • St. Johns Pleasant Valley Hospital (CA)
  • St. Joseph's University Medical Center (NJ)
  • St. Joseph Medical Center Kansas City (MO)
  • St. Mary Mercy Hospital (MI)
  • St. Mary’s Medical Center (MO)
  • Stanford University Hospital (CA)
  • Sturdy Memorial Hospital (MA)
  • Thompson Health (NY)
  • Tufts Medical Center (MA)
  • UNC Medical Center Hillsborough (NC)
  • Unity Hospital Rochester (NY)
  • The Valley Hospital (NJ)
  • Wake Forest Baptist Health - Davie Medical Center (NC)
Note: Hover mouse to pause ticker

Learn about GEDA Accreditation Levels

To learn more about the criteria for geriatric ED accreditation, see the accreditation criteria available below.

Bronze - Level 3

Bronze - Level 3

Silver - Level 2

Silver - Level 2

Gold - Level 1

Gold - Level 1

Developed with support from

Sponsor Logo Sponsor Logo

All images, text, programs, and other materials posted on this site are subject to copyrights owned by the American College of Emergency Physicians ("ACEP") and other individuals or entities and are protected by United States copyright laws. Any reproduction, retransmission, distribution or republication of all or part of any images, text, programs, and other materials found on this site is expressly prohibited, unless ACEP or the copyright owner of the material has expressly granted its prior written consent to so reproduce, transmit, or republish the material. All other rights reserved.

You may submit an online request to use copyright materials published by ACEP. All permission requests must be submitted online.