John G. Wiegenstein Leadership Award


The John G. Wiegenstein Leadership Award is presented to a current or past national ACEP leader - member of the Board of Directors or officer of the Council - for outstanding contributions to the College. The award is named after John G. Wiegenstein, MD, a founding member and the first president of ACEP. Dr. Wiegenstein represents the epitome of leadership, both personal and professional. He served for five years as the College's first delegate to the American Medical Association and is a past president of the American Board of Emergency Medicine.

2021 Recipient
Kaplan, Jay headshot (Wiegenstein).jpg
Jay A. Kaplan, MD, FACEP


The Wiegenstein Award is a plaque featuring an etched portrait of the recipient. The recipient's name is inscribed on a master plaque at ACEP Headquarters. By virtue of receiving this award, the recipient is not required to pay dues or registration fees for the annual meeting.


Any member of the College may nominate a past or current member of the Board of Directors or officer of the Council for this award. The nominee must be an active, life or honorary member of the College.

The nominee should have made an outstanding contribution to ACEP by significantly helping to achieve one or more of the College's purposes and objectives. The nominee should serve as a role model for College members, and his/her personal leadership attributes should include, but are not limited to: inspiration, innovation, diplomacy, planning, organization, management and administration, arbitration, consensus building, and decision making. Recipients of this award are ineligible to receive awards in other categories of the Award Program.

Past Recipients

  • 1975 John Wiegenstein, MD
  • 1976 James Mills, Jr., MD
  • 1977 R.R. Hannas, Jr., MD
  • 1978 Harris Graves, MD
  • 1979 Ronald Krome, MD, FACEP
  • 1980 George Podgorny, MD
  • 1981 Karl Mangold, MD
  • 1982 William Haeck, MD
  • 1983 Ben Moore, Jr., MD | John Rupke, MD
  • 1984 B. Ken Gray, MD, FACEP
  • 1985 Leonard Riggs, Jr., MD
  • 1986 John McDade, MD
  • 1987 H. Arnold Muller, MD, FACEP
  • 1988 Brooks Bock, FACEP
  • 1989 Bruce Janiak, MD, FACEP
  • 1991 Jacek Franaszek, MD, FACEP
  • 1992 Robert Anzinger, MD, FACEP
  • 1994 Michael Bresler, MD, FACEP
  • 1995 Robert Williams, MD, DPH, FACEP
  • 1996 John B. McCabe, MD, FACEP
  • 1998 Gregory L. Henry, MD, FACEP
  • 1999 Larry A. Bedard, MD, FACEP
  • 2000 Dennis C. Whitehead, MD, FACEP
  • 2001 Nancy J. Auer, MD, FACEP
  • 2002 Michael D. Bishop, MD, FACEP
  • 2003 John C. Moorhead, MD, FACEP
  • 2004 Robert W. Schafermeyer, MD, FACEP
  • 2005 Michael T. Rapp, MD, FACEP
  • 2006 Richard L. Stennes, MD, FACEP
  • 2007 Arthur L. Kellermann, MD, FACEP
  • 2008 George W. Molzen, MD, FACEP
  • 2009 Robert E. Suter, DO, MHA, FACEP
  • 2010 E. Jackson Allison, Jr., MD, FACEP
  • 2011 Fredrick C. Blum, MD, FACEP
  • 2012 Michael L. Carius, MD, FACEP
  • 2013 Mark L. DeBard, MD, FACEP
  • 2014 J. Brian Hancock, MD, FACEP
  • 2015 Angela F. Gardner, MD, FACEP
  • 2016 Linda L. Lawrence, MD, FACEP
  • 2017 Brian F. Keaton, MD, FACEP
  • 2018 Nicholas J. Jouriles, MD, FACEP
  • 2019 Sandra M. Schneider, MD, FACEP
  • 2020 David C. Seaberg, MD, CPE, FACEP
  • 2021 Jay A. Kaplan, MD, FACEP

Entry Procedures

Any member may nominate a member by submitting a completed nomination form. Submit the nomination form, nominee's curriculum vitae, and up to 3 letters of support to Mary Ellen Fletcher, CPC, CEDC, at the ACEP Headquarters. Letters of support are greatly encouraged and are at the discretion of the nominator. Additionally, a nominee should have only one nomination whether from a chapter, entity (such as a committee or section), or individual. All entries must be submitted by the deadline for consideration by the Awards Committee.


The Awards Committee will judge the entries, with its recommendations subject to review by the ACEP Board of Directors. The decision of the Board is final, and the Board reserves the right to make no award if there are no nominees of sufficient merit. The award will be presented at the annual President's Awards Banquet.

[ Feedback → ]