Honorary Membership Award


The Honorary Membership Award is presented to an individual who has rendered outstanding service to the College or to the specialty of emergency medicine.

2022 Recipients

Gruehn, Brad Headshot cropped.jpg
Brad Gruehn

Montgomery, Margaret Headshot.jpg
Margaret Montgomery, RN, MSN

Rozel, Jack Headshot.jpg
John "Jack" Rozel, MD, MSL, DFAPA

Thomas, Todd.jpg
William Todd Thomas, CPC, CCS-P



The Honorary Membership Award is a framed certificate. The recipient's name is inscribed on a master plaque at ACEP Headquarters. The recipient is considered a lifelong member of the College, is not required to pay any dues, and cannot vote or hold office but receives all other benefits and privileges of membership.


Any member of the College, or any component body, may nominate persons of distinction who have rendered outstanding service to the College or to the specialty of emergency medicine. Candidates for honorary membership cannot be currently eligible for other categories of College membership. National ACEP staff are eligible for nomination only after leaving employment from ACEP. Chapter executives are eligible for nomination only after leaving employment from the chapter.

The nominee should have made an outstanding contribution to ACEP by significantly helping to achieve one or more of the College’s purposes and objectives. The nominee should serve as a role model for College members, and his/her personal attributes should include, but are not limited to: inspiration, innovation, diplomacy, planning, organization, management and administration, arbitration, consensus building, and decision making. 

Past Recipients

  • 1969  Richard D. Mudd, MD, PhD (deceased)
  • 1970  John T. Rogers, MD (deceased)
  •           John G. Wiegenstein, MD (deceased)
  • 1971  Robert J. Rathburn, MD (deceased)
  • 1975  R. R. Hannas, Jr., MD (deceased)
  •           James D. Mills, Jr., MD (deceased)
  • 1977  Harris B. Graves, MD (deceased)
  • 1979  Peter Safar, MD (deceased)
  • 1980  A. L. Jenkins, MD
  • 1981  Edward Abson, FRCS (Casualty Surgeons Assn Great Britain)
  •           David Caro, (Casualty Surgeons Assn Great Britain)
  •           John Collins, MD, ChB, MRCS (Casualty Surgeons Assn Great Britain - deceased)
  •           Ronald L. Krome, MD, FACEP
  •           Karl G. Mangold, MD
  •           George Podgorny, MD (deceased)
  • 1982  William T. Haeck, MD (deceased)
  • 1983  Cyril T. M. Cameron, MD (deceased)
  •           Ben E. Moore, MD (deceased)
  •           John A. Rupke, MD (deceased)
  •           William H. Rutherford (Casualty Surgeons Assn Great Britain)
  • 1984  B. Ken Gray, MD, FACEP
  •           Carl Jelenko, III, MD (deceased)
  •           Bill B. Smiley, MD, Ret.
  • 1985  H. Arnold Muller, MD, FACEP
  •           Leonard M. Riggs, Jr., MD
  •           David Wilson, MD (Casualty Surgeons Assn Great Britain)
  • 1986  Jack Leckie, MD (deceased)
  •           John P. McDade, MD (deceased)
  •           Martin J. O'Neill, MD (deceased)
  • 1987  George Adler, MD (deceased)
  • 1988  Brooks F. Bock, MD, FACEP
  •           Kathryn M. Dykgraaf
  • 1989  Frederick Glass, MD
  •           Bruce D. Janiak, MD, FACEP
  • 1990  David Williams, FRCP, MRCGP (Casualty Surgeons Assn Great Britain)
  • 1991  Jacek B. Franaszek, MD, FACEP
  •           Mark M. Lindsey, MD (deceased)
  •           Benson S. Munger, PhD
  •           Frank E. Foss, MD
  • 1992  Robert K. Anzinger, MD, FACEP
  •           John H. Harris, Jr., MD, DSc
  • 1993  Maj. Gen. Norman Kirby, DBE, FRCS (BAEM Past President)
  •           Reinald J. Leidelmeyer, MD
  • 1994  Michael J. Bresler, MD, FACEP
  • 1995  John A. Kitzhaber, MD
  •           Robert M. Williams, MD, DPH, FACEP
  • 1996  John B. McCabe, MD, FACEP
  • 1997  Sandra L. Riggins
  • 1998  Gregory L. Henry, MD, FACEP
  •           Paul Pomeroy, Jr., MD, FACEP
  •           Colin C. Rorrie, Jr., PhD
  •           Ellen Taliaferro, MD, FACEP
  • 1999  Larry A. Bedard, MD, FACEP
  • 2000  Dennis C. Whitehead, MD, FACEP
  • 2001  Nancy J. Auer, MD, FACEP
  •           Jack R. Page, MD, FACEP
  •           Carol S. Rivers, MD, FACEP
  • 2002  Michael D. Bishop, MD, FACEP
  •           Michael E. Gallery, PhD, CAE
  •           Barbara W. Trainor
  • 2003  John C. Moskop, PhD
  •           John C. Moorhead, MD, FACEP
  • 2004  Arthur Cooper, MD, FACS, FAAP, FCCM
  •           Earl Schwartz, MD
  •           Robert W. Schafermeyer, MD, FACEP
  • 2005  Mary Ann Reinhart, PhD
  •           Iris Wiegenstein
  • 2006  David Blunk
  •           Elaine Jastram
  •           Gwen Messler-Harry
  • 2007  David Zabel
  • 2008  Beverly Lynch
  •           Joy Zimmer
  • 2009  James E. Coles, CAE
  •           Ernest E. Moore, Jr., MD, FACEP
  • 2010  Janet Goldberg
  •           Diane K. Bollman (deceased)
  • 2011  Arthur Auer
  •           Leah Heimbach, JD, RN, EMT-P
  • 2012  Bernadette Carr
  •           Edward R. Gaines, III, JD, CCP
  •           E. Nicholas Kestner, III
  • 2013  Caral Edelberg, CPC, CCS-P
  • 2014  Phyllis L. Edans, CPA, CAE (deceased)
  • 2015  Marilyn Bromley, RN
  •           W. Calvin Chaney, JD, CAE
  •           Virginia Kennedy-Palys, JD
  • 2016  Beth P. Brunner
  •           Barbara Burgess 
  • 2017  Patty Stowe, CAE
  •           Laura L. Tiberi, CAE
  •           Gordon B. Wheeler 
  • 2018  Marjorie A. Geist, RN, PhD, CAE
  •           Barbara Tomar, MPH
  • 2019  Lowell Gerson, PhD
  •           Laura Gore
  • 2020  Pat Hughes, CMP
  •           Jane Scott, ScD, MSN
  •           Hugh Dean Wilkerson, JD, MBA, CAE
  • 2021  Sally Winkelman
  • 2022  Brad Gruehn
  •           Margaret Montgomery, RN, MSN
  •           John "Jack" Rozel, MD, MSL, DFAPA
  •           William Todd Thomas, CPC, CCS-P

    Entry Procedures

Any member of the College, or any component body, may nominate a member by submitting a completed nomination form. Submit the nomination form, nominee's curriculum vitae, and up to 3 letters of support through the online nomination form located on the ACEP website. Letters of support are greatly encouraged and are at the discretion of the nominator. Additionally, a nominee should have only one nomination whether from an individual or a component body. All entries must be submitted no later than March 8, 2022, for consideration by the Awards Committee. Receipt of each nomination will be confirmed by e-mail. Please follow up if you do not receive a confirmation.  


The Awards Committee will judge the entries, with its recommendations subject to review by the ACEP Board of Directors. The decision of the Board is final, and the Board reserves the right to make no award if there are no nominees of sufficient merit.

[ Feedback → ]