• Popular Recommendations

  • PEER
  • ultrasound
  • LLSA
  • sepsis

Disaster Medical Sciences Award

Award Nomination Form  

Disaster Medical Sciences Award Nomination Form

2019 Award Recipient


Richard C. Hunt, MD, FACEP 


The Disaster Medical Sciences Award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions of national/international significance or impact to the field of disaster medicine.


The award features a crystalline sphere held up by two hands. The recipient’s name will be inscribed on a master plaque at ACEP Headquarters. The recipient will also be recognized on ACEP’s Web site and included in other ACEP communications as part of the annual award recognition process.

Any member of the College may nominate himself/herself or an individual that has made an outstanding contribution to the field of disaster medicine of national or international significance. This includes outstanding contributions to the development, promotion, maturation, education, or humanitarian mission of disaster medicine on a state, national, or international level. Individuals eligible for nomination may include non-members of ACEP and non-physicians. The award may be given posthumously.

The Disaster Preparedness & Response Committee will evaluate all nominations submitted by the deadline. Activities that are appropriate for evaluating nominees include but are not limited to:

  • Research and publications
  • Service to organizations that support disaster medicine
  • Humanitarian activities, including providing medical care in disasters
  • Leadership activities
  • Teaching
  • Advocacy/legislative efforts

Nominees need not demonstrate achievements in all categories to be selected.

Past Recipients

2013 Thomas D. Kirsch, MD, MPH, FACEP
2014   Frederick (Skip) Burkle, Jr., MD, FACEP
  Joseph F. Waeckerle, MD, FACEP
2015 Carl H. Schultz, MD, FACEP
2016  Andrew I Bern, MD, FACEP
2017      Kristi L. Koenig, MD, FACEP 

Gregory R. Ciottone, MD, FACEP, FFSEM


Richard C. Hunt, MD, FACEP 


Entry Procedures and Selection Process
Any member who wishes to nominate a candidate should complete a nomination form. Submit the nomination form, nominee’s curriculum vitae, and up to three letters of support thru the online process or to Pat Elmes, staff liaison to the Disaster Preparedness & Response Committee. Letters of support are greatly encouraged and are at the discretion of the nominator.Additionally, a nominee should have only one nomination from a chapter, entity (such as a committee or section), or individual. All entries must be submitted no later than March 1, 2020 for consideration. Receipt of each nomination will be confirmed by email.

The Disaster Preparedness & Response Committee will judge the entries, with its recommendations subject to review by the ACEP Board of Directors. The decision of the Board is final, and the Board reserves the right to make no award if there are no nominees of sufficient merit. The Board may also decide to grant the award to more than one individual. The award will be presented at the Disaster Medicine Section meeting during the annual meeting. The recipient will also be recognized at the annual President’s Awards Banquet.

[ Feedback → ]