• Popular Recommendations

  • PEER
  • ultrasound
  • LLSA
  • sepsis

2019 Award Winners Announced

The American College of Emergency Physicians Awards Program honors leadership and excellence. The program provides an opportunity to recognize all members for significant professional contributions as well as service to the College. All members of ACEP are eligible to participate in one or more of the College’s award programs.

ACEP congratulates its 2019 honorees, who will be honored during ACEP19 in Denver.


  • John G. Wiegenstein Leadership Award– Sandra M. Schneider, MD, FACEP
  • James D. Mills Outstanding Contribution to Emergency Medicine Award– Ramon W. Johnson, MD, FACEP
  • Judith E. Tintinalli Award for Outstanding Contribution in Education– William “Ken” Milne, MD, FACEP
  • Outstanding Contribution in Research Award– Rebecca M. Cunningham, MD, FACEP and Gail D’Onofrio, MD, FACEP
  • Outstanding Contribution in EMS Award– Robert E. O’Connor, MD, FACEP
  • Colin C. Rorrie, Jr. Award for Excellence in Health Policy– Peter J. Jacoby, MD, FACEP
  • Policy Pioneer Award– Megan L. Ranney, MD, FACEP
  • John A. Rupke Legacy Award– Juan A. Gonzalez-Sanchez, MD, FACEP
  • Honorary Membership Award– Lowell Gerson, PhD and Laura Gore
  • Pamela P. Bensen Trailblazer Award– Andrew I. Bern, MD, FACEP
  • Diane K. Bollman Chapter Advocate Award– Elena Lopez-Gusman
  • Spokesperson of the Year (2018)– Benjamin A. Savitch, MD, FACEP
  • Council Meritorious Service Award– John H. Proctor, MD, FACEP
  • Teamwork Award– Anne Zink, MD, FACEP; Laura Tilly, MD, FACEP; Brad Gruehn; and the SHIELDS Act Team
  • Horizon Award– Zachary Jarou, MD
  • Champion of Diversity & Inclusion– Bruce Lo, MD, FACEP
  • Curmudgeon Award– Bradford L. Walters, MD, FACEP
[ Feedback → ]