2021 Recipient
Parker preferred - 2-3-17.jpg
Rebecca B. Parker, MD, FACEP 


The award celebrates and promotes diversity of experience and thought, the merit of inclusivity, and the value of equity. It is presented to a councillor, group of councillors, or component body that has demonstrated a sustained commitment to fostering a diversity of contributions and an environment of inclusivity that directly enhances the work of the Council and provides excellence to ACEP.


The award is inscribed with the name of the recipient.


The nominee should exemplify service to the College through the promotion of diversity and inclusion. The nominee must demonstrate evidence of having a commitment to the promotion of a diverse leadership and/or membership and/or initiatives related to diversity and inclusion through mentorship, programmatic activities, professional development, and other contributions specifically purposed to promote the mission, support the policies, and enhance the work of the Council and the specialty of emergency medicine. The nominee must demonstrate the ideals of this award through, but not limited to, distinction in one or more of the following areas:

  • Leadership in promoting a culture of diversity, inclusion, and equity.
  • Commitment to promoting enhanced awareness of issues on diversity, inclusion, and equity.
  • Policy development and implementation that promotes diversity and inclusion.
  • Mentorship through the provision of opportunities and initiatives that promote a diverse and inclusive workforce and promote pipeline initiatives.
  • Innovation through implementation transformative ideas pertaining to issues related to diversity, inclusion, and equity in patient care, career/professional development, education, research and/or service.

Past Recipients

2018     Aisha Liferidge, MD, FACEP
2019     Bruce Lo, MD, FACEP
2020     Andrea L. Green, MD, FACEP

Entry Procedures

Any member may nominate a Council participant, group of councillors, or recognized component body by submitting a completed nomination form. Submit the nomination form, a brief curriculum vitae highlighting Council service, and up to 3 letters of support by e-mail to Mary Ellen Fletcher, CPC, CEDC, at Letters of support are greatly encouraged and are at the discretion of the nominator. Additionally, a nominee should have only one nomination whether from a chapter, entity (such as a committee or section), or individual. All entries must be submitted no later than March 1, 2021, for consideration by the Council Awards Committee. Receipt of each nomination will be confirmed by e-mail. Please follow up with Mary Ellen Fletcher if you do not receive a confirmation.


The Council Awards Committee, consisting of current and past councillors appointed by the Speaker, will judge the entries. The decision of the judges is final, and the judges reserve the right to make no award if there are no nominees of sufficient merit. The award will be presented at the annual Council Awards Luncheon. The recipient will also be recognized during the annual President’s Awards Gala.

[ Feedback → ]