AMERICAN COLLEGE OF EMERGENCY PHYSICIANS

SECTION ON EMS-PREHOSPITAL CARE

Monday, October 26, 2015 12:30 to 2:30 pm Westin Waterfront Grand Ballroom B Boston, MA

Meeting Minutes

Section Officers:

Howard Mell, MD, MPH, FACEP, Chair; Melissa Costello, MD, FACEP, Chair-Elect; Mark Escott, MD, MPH, FACEP, Secretary; Gaston Costa, MD, Member-at-Large; Sabina Braithwaite, MD, MPH, FACEP, Councillor; Gina Piazza, DO, FACEP, Alternate Councillor.

Attendees:

Paul J. Barbara, MD, FACEP; Trevor R. Marshall, MD; Kevin Mackey, MD, FACEP; Ben Zabar, MD; Jeff Jarvis, MD, FACEP; William A. Boehm, MD, FACEP; Jeffrey Michael Goodloe, MD, FACEP; Olivia Norrmen-Smith, Heston LaMar, MD, FACEP; John M Gallagher, MD, FACEP; Stephen Sanko, MD; Scott Goldberg, MD, FACEP; Nicholas Asselin, DO; Erin Michelle Wirths, DO; James William Sauto, Jr, MD, FACEP; John W. Lyng, MD, FACEP; Peter M. Antevy, MD; Julie Houle, MD; Yuko Nakajima, MD; Matt Conklin, MD, FACEP; Amy B Raubenolt, MD; Ricky C Kue, MD, FACEP; Michael Valkanas, MD, FACEP; David Lobel, MD, FACEP; Dan Shocket, MD: Kubwimana Moses Mhavamaguru, MD: Daniel Willner, MD: James Michael Cusick, MD. FACEP; Randall Matthew Geldreich, MD, FACEP; Mic Gunderson; Joe C. Tennyson, MD, FACEP; Christopher Kevin Hansen, MD; Whitney Barrett, MD; David Strong, MD; Marvin A Wayne, MD, FACEP; Megan E, Gussick, MD; Ralph J Frascone, MD, FACEP; Marc S Rosenthal, DO, FACEP; Gerard DeMers, DO, FACEP; Shane Paul Jenks, MD; Douglas R Dixon, MD; David Manning French, MD, FACEP; Melissa Amonette, MD, FACEP; Mark Liao, MD; Gregory R Sarsfield, MD; David Marshall Glenn, MD, FACEP; Scott Goldstein, DO, FACEP; Frank Guyette, MD, FACEP; Michael Perlmutter; David S Kugler, MD, MPH, FACEP; Ricardo Felipe Hughes, MD; John Gerard McManus, Jr, MD, FACEP; Hemant H Vankawala, MD, FACEP; Gerad A Troutman, MD, FACEP; Jeffrey Kuo, MD; Stephanie Wagner, MD, FACEP; Benjamin Lawner, DO, EMT- P, FACEP; Brian Leonard Miller, MD; David Rayburn, MD; Wilford Ira Mills, IV, MD, FACEP; George Z Hevesy, MD, FACEP; Mitchell Moriber, DO; Patricia Moriber, RN; Brian R Froelke, MD, FACEP; Justin W Fairless, DO, FACEP; Allen Yee, MD, FACEP; Jacob Keeperman, MD, FACEP; Jefferson G Williams, MD, FACEP; Jim Dunford, MD, FACEP; Selwyn Mahon, MD, FACEP; Marilyn K McLeod, MD, FACEP; Joelle N Simpson, MD, MPH; Thomas E Collins, MD, FACEP; Roy L Alson, MD, PhD, FACEP; Paul J D Roszko, MD; Heidi Abraham, MD; Brett Rosen, MD; Ritu Sahni, MD, MPH, FACEP; Jerrielynn Kind; David K Tan, DO; Richard Neville Bradley, MD, FACEP; William S Gilmore, MD, FACEP; Jeffrey Evan Siegler, MD; Kerry M Bachista, MD, FACEP; David Wilcocks, MD; Andrew I Bern, MD, FACEP;

ACEP Staff:

Rick Murray, EMT-P; Pat Elmes, EMT-P (Ret)

AGENDA

I.	Call to Order and Welcome	Dr. Mell
II.	Opening Remarks	Dr. Mell
III.	Award Presentation	Dr. Kaplan
	2015 Outstanding Contribution in EMS Award	
IV.	Board Liaison Report	Dr. Perina
V.	Officer Elections	Dr. Mell
VI.	New Chair remarks	Dr. Costello

- VII. Presentation and panel discussion Dr. Costello
 Outcomes of Basic Versus Advanced Life Support for Out-of-Hospital Medical Emergencies
 Panel Discussion Prachi Sanghavi, PhD; Anupam Jena, MD, PhD; Joseph Newhouse, PhD; Craig Manifold, DO, FACEP; Howard Mell, MD, MPH, FACEP.
 VIII. New Business
 - III.New BusinessDr. BraithwaiteA. Council Meeting ReportDr. BraithwaiteB. EMS Committee ReportDr. ManifoldC. Other New BusinessDr. CostelloIX.AdjournDr. Costello

Major items discussed:

- 1. Dr. Mell opened the meeting and thanked everyone for attending. He recognized and thanked Chiesi for sponsoring the section luncheon.
- 2. Dr. Kaplan presented the 2016 Outstanding Contribution in EMS Award to Dr. James Dunford, Jr, MD, FACEP. Dr. Dunford shares a few thoughts and experiences from his many years in EMS.
- 3. Section officer elections were held. The following were elected as the 2015-17 Section Officers:

Chair - Melissa Costello, MD, FACEP Chair-Elect – Mark E. A. Escott, MD, MPH, FACEP Secretary – Gaston Ariel Costa, MD Member-at-Large – Dustin Holland, MD, MPH Councillor – Gina Piazza, DO, FACEP Alternate Councillor – James "Tripp" Winslow, MD, FACEP

- 4. Dr. Prachi Sanghavi presented her research paper "Outcomes of Basic versus Advanced Life Support for Out-of-Hospital Medical Emergencies." Following her presentation, a panel comprised of Prachi Sanghavi, PhD; Anupam Jena, MD, PhD; Joseph Newhouse, PhD; Craig Manifold, DO, FACEP, and Howard Mell, MD, MPH, FACEP addressed questions presented by the audience.
- 5. Dr. Braithwaite reported on the activities of the 2015 ACEP Council including the resolutions on law enforcement body cam use in the ED.
- 6. Meeting adjourned at 2:30 pm