AMERICAN COLLEGE OF EMERGENCY PHYSICIANS

SECTION ON EMS-PREHOSPITAL CARE

Sunday, October 16, 2016 12:30 – 2:30 PM, Islander Ballroom E Mandalay Bay Convention Center Las Vegas, NV

Meeting Minutes

Section Officers in attendance:

Melissa Wysong Costello, MD, FACEP (Chair); Howard K Mell, MD, MPH, CPE, FACEP (Immediate Past Chair); Mark E A Escott, MD, MPH, FACEP (Chair-Elect); Gaston Ariel Costa, MD (Secretary & Newsletter Editor); Dustin Holland, MD, MPH (Member-at-Large); Gina Piazza, DO, FACEP (Councillor); Debra G Perina, MD, FACEP (ACEP Board Liaison)

Section Members in attendance:

Sean W Marquis, MD, MPH, FACEP; Perina, Frank Guyette, MD, FACEP; Justin W Fairless, DO, FACEP; Julie Houle, MD, NREMT-P; Michael K Levy, MD, FACEP; Frank S Pettyjohn, MD, FACEP; Jon P Strotkamp, DO; Randall Matthew Geldreich, MD, FACEP; Frank Willingham Tift, MD; Jeffrey L Jarvis, MD, FACEP; Taylor K Ratcliff, MD, FACEP; Cameron Decker, MD; Faroukh Mehkri, MS IV; James T Woodson, MD, FACEP; Antony P Hsu, MD, FACEP; Jullette M Saussy, AMD, FACEP; Henderson D McGinnis, MD, FACEP; Roy L Alson, MD, PhD, FACEP; Azeemuddin Ahmed, MD, MBA, FACEP; Marc S Rosenthal, DO, FACEP; Sibold, Harry Eugene Sibold, MD, EMT-P, FACEP; Schlesinger, Shira A Schlesinger, MD, MPH; Seth Collings Hawkins, MD, FACEP; Christopher Davis, MD; Daniel G Hankins, MD, FACEP; Robert A Swor, DO, FACEP; Jeff K Beeson, DO, FACEP; Jeffrey Michael Goodloe, MD, FACEP; Brent J Myers, MD, MPH, FACEP; Hevesy, George Z Hevesy, MD, FACEP; Jared L Ross, DO; Michael F Spinger, MD; Becky A Abell, MD; Michael O'Brien, MD, CCEMT-P; Melissa Amonette, MD, FF, FACEP; Nichole Bosson, MD, MPH; Nemeth, Ira R Nemeth, MD, FACEP; Jacob Keeperman, MD, FACEP; Sabina A Braithwaite, MD, MPH, FACEP; Brandon B Bleess, MD; David FE Stuhlmiller, MD, FACEP; Joshua W Loyd, MD; Ricardo Felipe Hughes, MD; Rebecca L Schulman, MD; Jeffrey S Rabrich, DO, FACEP; Douglas F Kupas, MD, FACEP; Eric Vaughan, MD, FACEP; Rachel Semmons, MD, FACEP: Craig A Manifold, DO, FACEP: Jon Krohmer, MD, FACEP: Brett Rosen, MD; Gerald Troutman, MD, FACEP.

Guests in attendance:

Joseph C Tennyson, MD, FACEP; Edward Reed Smith, MD, FACEP; Melissa Kroll, MD; Rose M Haisler, DO, FACEP; Alex Robles; Leza Naydich; Holly Stewart (Medtronics); Michael Mestek (Medtronics); Wes Wood, RN (Pulsara); Kris Kaull (Pulsara); Josh Hesington (Medtronics); Michael Kralloy (Medtronics); Alex Robles, AMDC; Jose Velds, MD; Michael Gary Guttenberg, DO, FACEP; Yasmeen Elmelige, EMT-I; Bohdan M Minczak, MD, PhD, FACEP, Keith Wages, Dean Wilkerson.

ACEP staff in attendance:

Rick Murray, EMT-P (Staff Liaison); Patrick Elmes, EMT-P (Staff Support) Deanna Harper, EMT-I (Staff Support)

AGENDA

I. Call to Order and Welcome

Opening Remarks	Dr. Costello
Award Presentation 2016 Outstanding Contribution in EMS Award	Dr. Parker
C C	Dr. Perina
	Dr. Manifold
Council Report	Dr. Braithwaite
Presentations:	
National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and	Dr. Kupas
Medicine Military and Civilian Trauma System Final Report	-
Medtronic Presentation	Michael Mestek, PhD
Respiratory Compromise: Preventing the Preventable	Senior Program Manager Medical Affairs
Pulsara Presentation	James Woodson, MD
Building a Regional System of Care for Time Sensitive Emergencies	
New Business	
A. Section grants/projects	Dr. Costello
B. Newsletter	Dr. Costello
C. Other New Business	Dr. Costello
Adjourn	Dr. Costello
	Award Presentation 2016 Outstanding Contribution in EMS Award Board Liaison Report EMS Committee Update Council Report Presentations: National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine Military and Civilian Trauma System Final Report Medtronic Presentation Respiratory Compromise: Preventing the Preventable Pulsara Presentation Building a Regional System of Care for Time Sensitive Emergencies New Business A. Section grants/projects B. Newsletter C. Other New Business

Major items discussed:

- 1. Dr. Melissa Costello opened the meeting and thanked all for attending. She thanked and recognized Medtronic and Pulsara for sponsoring the section luncheon and providing the educational presentations for the meeting.
- 2. Dr. Rebecca Parker presented the 2016 Outstanding Contribution in EMS Award to Dr. Jullette Saussy.
- 3. ACEP Past President Dr. Jay Kaplan attended the meeting and spoke to the group. He addressed the issues surrounding the recent ACEP Press Release regarding gun violence and police shootings. Dr. Kaplan apologized for any concerns the initial press release caused and explained a new procedure that had recently been put in place to prevent this from occurring in the future.
- 4. Dr. Debra Perina, Section Board Liaison, thanked the section on behalf of the Board for their strong work for the College in EMS.
- 5. Dr. Gina Piazza provided a report on the ACEP Council meeting including a resolution regarding Naloxone use and transition of military medics to civilian EMS careers.
- 6. Dr. Doug Kupas presented a summary of the recent National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine project on Military and Civilian Trauma Systems and shared the recommendations contained in their Final Report.
- 7. Dr. Michael Mestek provided the Medtronic presentation on Respiratory Compromise: Preventing the Preventable.
- 8. Dr. James Woodson provided the Pulsara presentation on Building a Regional System of Care for Time Sensitive Emergencies.
- 9. There being no further business the meeting adjourned at 2:30 pm.