AMERICAN COLLEGE OF EMERGENCY PHYSICIANS

Critical Care Medicine Section Meeting

Las Vegas, NV October 17, 2016 **Minutes**

Participants

Section members participating included:, Evie Marcolini, MD, FACEP, Section Chair/Alternate Councillor; Robert Alunday, MD; Ani Aydin, MD; Eric Bassan, MD; Kene Chukwuanu, MD; Steven Conrad, MD, FACEP; Chris Davlantes, MD, FACEP; Vi Am Dinh, MD; Marie-Carmelle Elie, MD, FACEP; Tim Ellender, MD, FACEP; Lillian Emlet, MD, FACEP; Rod Fontenette, MD; Joshua Glick, MD; Jeremy Gonda, MD, FACEP; Munish Goyal, MD, FACEP; John Greenwood, MD; Kyle Gunnerson, MD; John Guthrie, MD; Daniel Jennings Haase, MD; Bachar Hamade, MD; Chris Hansen, MD; Chris Hogan, MD, FACEP; Jenelle Ann Holst, MD; Cindy Hsu, MD, PhD; Cameron D Hypes, MD, MPH; Jonathan Jaffe, MD; Nick Johnson, MD; Kevin Michael Jones, MD; Jacob Keeperman, MD; Daniel Kievlan, MD; Fraser Mackay, MD; Debbie Madhok, MD; Michael Menowsky, MD; Jarrod M Mosier, MD; Michael Nottidge, MD, FACEP; Matthew Roginski, MD; Jeffrey M Scott, DO; Joseph R. Shiber, MD, FACEP, Immediate Past Chair/Councillor; Scott Simpson, DO; Todd Slesinger, MD, FACEP; Matthew J Stull, MD; Felipe Teran, MD; Keegan Tupchong, MD; Alredo Urdaneta, MD; Rade Vukmir, MD, JD, FACEP; Brian Wessman, MD, Brian Wright, MD, MPH, FACEP: Gregory Phillip Wu, MD; Jennifer Yu, MD; and Qiuping Zhou, DO.

Others participating included: Mark Andreae, MD; Matt Becka; Sara Crager, MD; Luke Duncan, MD; Matt Eisenstat, MD; Indira Gowda, MD; Alex Kabzik, MD; Shikha Kapil, MD; Patrick Maher, MD; Anton Monasco, MD; Clinton Orloski, MD; Francisco Palacios, MD; Juan Ramirez, MD; Kadisha Rapp, MD; Rodrigo Rosas, MD; David Saenz, MD; Stephen Anderson, MD, FACEP, Board Liaison; and Margaret Montgomery, staff liaison.

Agenda

- 1 Welcome/Introductions
- 2 Reports on Section Activities
- 3. Reports from other Critical Care Interest Groups
- 4. Meeting Sponsor
- 5. Educational Presentations

Major Points Discussed

- 1. Dr. Sen welcomed everyone to the section meeting and all participants present introduced themselves.
- 2. Dr. Anderson, board liaison to the section, presented the Critical Care Medicine Section the College's Service to Section Award for exemplary educational offerings during the ACEP15 section meeting generating engagement by providing opportunities to section member s. The award was presented to Evie Marcolini, MD, FACEP- Chair 2013-2015 and Ayan Sen, MD, FACEP Chair 2015-2016

Dr. Anderson also presented the Outstanding Section Newsletter *Award of Distinction*. The award recognizes the exemplar newsletters published by the section from October 2013 through October 2014. Award certificates were presented to Nicholas M. Mohr MD -- Newsletter Editor, 2014-2015; Raghu Seethala, MD – Associate Newsletter Editor 2014 –2015; Joseph Tonna, MD – Associate Newsletter Editor, 2014-2015; Michael Haarstad, MD – Assistant Newsletter Editor, 2014-2015 and Evie Marcolini, MD, FACEP, Chair, 2013-2015.

Critical Care Medicine Section meeting minutes October 17, 2016 Page 2

Dr. Sen reported that the section currently has 884 section members and encouraged section members to share their ideas on what the section should work on. He provided information regarding ongoing collaborations amongst the critical care sections of ACEP, SCCM, AAEM and SAEM. Further updates will be provided in the future. He provided suggestions on potential section grant applications. Research opportunities and faculty development issues were also highlighted. Future planned collaborations with the sections of Disaster Medicine, Palliative Medicine and Ultrasound section was also elucidated.

Dr. Marcolini highlighted the growth in the interest in CCM and certification and that there are mechanisms for mentorship and avenues for members to ask questions. The Rising Star segment of the meeting is in its second year and all applicants were thanked for their submissions. Attendees were encouraged to share their models of practice as this is a topic of great interest to those early in their careers.

Dr. Mohr shared information on the EM/CCM Employment Project. A workgroup will be formed to look at transitions to fellowships and practice in academic and private practice settings. The work of this group will focus on what practice models are currently being seen, as well as to advocate and educate stakeholders outside of emergency medicine. A workgroup of 4 to 6 individuals will be formed to develop a survey. Volunteers will need to have insight into the practice issues, have questions and solutions and be creative. An email will be sent to section members for volunteers.

Dr. Tonna as the newsletter editor thanked Dr. Wilcox and Dr. Seethala for their work as associate editors. Dr. Tonna invited section members to share their ideas for articles and challenged everyone to share their tips and tricks to be shared in the newsletter.

Dr. Yu as website editor shared that the plan is to focus on developing a one stop shop for practice guidelines. Section members were asked to volunteer to submit resources as well as participate in the website update as well as in the development of a social media presence.

3. Dr. Slesinger provided an overview of the Emergency Quality Network (E-QUAL) sepsis initiative and encouraged submission of data to the confidential, de-identified E-QUAL SEP-1 Challenge. The deadline to submit is November 18th. MOC Part IV credit can be earned through participation. Dr. Holst and Dr. Malik, Co-chairs of the EMRA CC Division, provided an update on their activities including: the EMRA Fellowship Guide (E-Book), Ventilator Management Reference card, PressorDex Infusion Card, and mentor program. Individuals interested in mentoring were asked to contact EMRA.

Dr. Wessman, chair for the SCCM EM Section reported on their activities and the continuing collaboration with the ACEP CCM Section. It was noted that the section has representation on the SCCM Council. Section members were encouraged to become involved with SCCM and to contact him with any questions.

- 4. Chris Davlantes, MD, Medical Director for Teleflex provided an update on research on interosseous lines. Teleflex was thanked for their sponsorship of the section social hour.
- 5. The business portion of the meeting was followed by educational presentations.

The Rising Star Speakers presented:

• Thomas Engel, MD - "The utilization of cerebral oximetry during cardiopulmonary resuscitation"

Critical Care Medicine Section meeting minutes October 17, 2016 **Page 3**

- Nick Johnson, MD "Oxygenation, ventilation, and lung injury: The respiratory system after cardiac arrest."
- Felipe Teran-Merino MD "Goal directed resuscitation"
- Marianne Wallis, MD "Coding the pregnant patient: special considerations when two lives are at stake"

Panel Discussion:

ED-ECMO

- Steven Conrad, MD, FACEP
- Kyle Gunnerson, MD
- Jarrod Mosier, MD
- Zack Shinar, MD, FACEP

With no further business the meeting was adjourned by Dr. Sen. Attendees proceeded to the social hour sponsored by Teleflex.