AMERICAN COLLEGE OF EMERGENCY PHYSICIANS

Critical Care Medicine Section Meeting

Boston, MA October 27, 2015 **Minutes**

Participants

Section members participating included:, Evie Marcolini, MD, FACEP, Section Chair/Alternate Councillor; Abdulaziz Alburaih, MD; Laith Tawfeeg Alreshaid, MD; John E Arbo, MD; Ani Aydin, MD Justin Lee Bright, MD; Kerry B Broderick, MD, FACEP; June Chae, MD; Karin Chase, MD; Gregg L Chesney, MD; Keith A Corl, MD, FACEP; Kristine Cottral, MD; Sara Crager, MD; Matthew Robert Dettmer, MD; Vi Am Dinh, MD; Matthew Eaton, DO; Marie-Carmelle Elie, MD, FACEP; Tim Ellender, MD, FACEP; Lillian Emlet, MD, FACEP; Katelin Marie Engerer, MD; Jay L Falk, MD, FACEP; Joseph Garze, MD; Naomi George, MD; Harman Singh Gill, MD; Joshua Glick, MD; Daniel Jennings Haase, MD; Daniel Herzberg, MD; Jenelle Ann Holst, MD; Peter C Hou, MD; David T. Huang, MD, MPH; Cameron D Hypes, MD, MPH; Ashika Jain, MD; Namita Jayaprakash, MD; Kevin Michael Jones, MD; Jacob Keeperman, MD; Samuel Hyojune Kim, MD; Abigail La Nou, MD, FACEP; Michael J Lauria; Evon Leibner, MD; John Litell, DO, Section Web page Editor; Christina Jennifer Lu, MD; Adam Howard Mandel, DO, FACEP; Colin G McCloskey, MD, Laura E Melnick; Matthew L Mitchell, MD; Nicholas M. Mohr, MD, Secretary/Newsletter Editor; Evan Corlee Moore, MD; Jarrod M Mosier, MD; Tiffany M. Osborn, MD, FACEP; H. Bryant Nguyen, MD; Chris Palmer, MD; Lars-Kristofer Peterson, MD; Emanuel P Rivers, MD; Avi Ruderman, MD; Jordan Schooler, MD; Jeffrey M Scott, DO; Ayan Sen, MD, Chair-elect; Krystle Shafer, MD; Nathan Ivan Shapiro, MD; Joseph R. Shiber, MD, FACEP, Immediate Past Chair/Councillor; Jean Francois Shields, MD; James F Skiba, Jr, MD, MPH; Todd Slesinger, MD, FACEP; Adarsh K Srivastava, MD; Matthew J Stull, MD; Felipe Teran, MD; Joseph Tonna, MD; Steven P Tropello, MD; James Michael Tsahakis, MD; Java Tunson, MD; Matthew Davis Tyler, MD; Chukwudi Uchendu, MD; Christopher T Wall, MD; Bradford L Walters, MD, FACEP; Mary Ward, MD; Sabrina Marie Weigand, MD; Brian Wessman, MD, Matthew Wiepking, MD; Ashley Wilson, MD; Gregory Phillip Wu, MD; Christopher Zammit, MD; Christopher Zernial, MD; Qiuping Zhou, DO and Joseph A Zito, MD.

Others participating included: Earl Reisdorff, MD, FACEP (ABEM); Tom Philbeck, PhD, MBA (Teleflex); Stephen Anderson, MD, FACEP, Board Liaison; and Margaret Montgomery, staff liaison.

Agenda

- 1 Welcome/Introductions
- 2 Reports on Section Activities
- 3. Reports from other Critical Care Interest Groups
- 4. Meeting Sponsor
- 5. Educational Presentations

Major Points Discussed

- 1. Dr. Marcolini welcomed everyone to the section meeting and all participants present introduced themselves.
- Dr. Anderson, board liaison to the section, presented the Critical Care Medicine Section the College's
 Outstanding Section Newsletter Award of Distinction. The award recognizes the exemplar
 newsletters published by the section from October 2013 through October 2014. Award certificates
 were presented to Dr. Marcolini, Section Chair, Dr. Mohr, Newsletter Editor, and Associate Editors,

Critical Care Medicine Section meeting minutes October 27, 2015 **Page 2**

Dr. Seethala, Dr. Tonna, and Dr. Haarstad. The 2015 **Service to College Award** was presented to Dr. Marcolini and Dr. Zhou for participation in the development and implementation of the outstanding innovatED simulation program at ACEP14 and its commitment to repeat the experience at ACEP15. Dr. Anderson also highlighted events at the recent Council meeting, the College development of CEDR and clinical measure development.

Dr. Marcolini, reported that the section currently has 844 section members and highlighted work of the section including the newsletter, innovatED, and work with the International Section.

Election results were then announced:

- Nick Mohr, MD- chair elect
- Joe Tonna, MD secretary/newsletter editor
- Jennifer Yu, web-editor

Nominees were thanked for their interest and participation in the election and the incoming officers were congratulated. Dr. Marcolini introduced the staff liaison to the section and thanked her for her support.

Dr. Reisdorff, ABEM Executive Director, discussed the importance of referring to the pathways for emergency medicine residents to pursue certification in critical care appropriately. Dr. Reisdorff also discussed the potential of CCM certification for physicians that are pioneers in critical care but may not meet current requirements.

Dr. Shiber, serving as Immediate Past Chair highlighted collaboration with the Society of Critical Care Medicine (SCCM), section member participation in the cadaver labs, encouraged section members to take leadership roles in CCM and the importance of involvement in your ED as well as the ICU.

Dr. Sen reported on the Grant Awarded to the Section- Project PICC: Promoting an International Coalition in Critical Care. The CCM Section is working with the Section on International Medicine on the grant. A survey has been developed and was sent to the CCM and International Sections. Section members and those present were encouraged to complete the survey. Reminders for the survey will be sent. The plan is to develop an information paper for publication. Dr. Sen also asked for input from members related to the future directions for the section.

Dr. Mohr shared that the section produced 4 newsletters this year and thanked the associate editors for their outstanding work.

Dr. Litell noted that the section microsite has been updated and it was shared that the section has a Twitter account that section members are encouraged to use. It was noted that additional revisions to the website are planned and section members are encouraged to share their thoughts on content. Employment opportunities, training programs and links to other resources were mentioned as areas for enhancement.

3. Dr. Shafer, Chair of the EMRA CC Division, provided an update on their activities. It was noted that there is an EMRA Match on the EMRA website for finding a critical care fellowship, application timelines and critical care tracks during residency. The newest edition of PressorDex is now available on iTunes. The EMRA CCM Division has also published an article in each edition of EM Resident.

Critical Care Medicine Section meeting minutes October 27, 2015 Page 3

Dr. Wessman, chair elect for the SCCM EM Section reported on their activities and the continuing collaboration with the ACEP CCM Section. It was noted that the section has representation on the SCCM Council.

- 4. Tom Philbeck PhD, MBA, Senior Director for Global Research and Scientific Services, for Teleflex shared recent research on IO related to critical care. Teleflex was thanked for their support of the the social hour to following the meeting.
- 5. Panel Discussion: Sepsis, The Role of Emergency Medicine. The panelist included:
 - Jay L. Falk, MD, FACEP
 - Emanuel P. Manny Rivers, MD
 - Tiffany M. Osborn, MD, FACEP
 - Nathan I. Shapiro, MD
 - Todd Slesinger, MD, FACEP

Following individual presentations there were questions and answers with the panelists. A number

Brief Talks were then provided by presenters on the following topics.

- Sara E. Crager, MD Fluid Responsiveness
- Jenelle A. Holst, MD Pulmonary Hypertension
- Harman Singh-Gill, MD High-flow Nasal Cannula

With no further business the meeting was adjourned by Dr. Marcolini. Attendees proceeded to the social hour sponsored by Teleflex.