# **American College of Emergency Physicians Section of Careers in Emergency Medicine**

Tuesday, October 18, 2016 8:00 AM Pacific Las Vegas, NV

#### **MINUTES**

Participating in all or part of the meeting were: James Augustine, MD, FACEP, Board Liaison; Wayne S. Barry, MD, FACEP; Jan A DeWitt, MD, FACEP; Constance J. Doyle, MD, FACEP, Alternate Councilor; Gus Garmel, MD, FACEP; Sanford H. Herman, MD, FACEP, Chair; Douglas M. Hill, DO, FACEP; Carol Rogala, DO; John J. Rogers, MD, FACEP; Sullivan K. Smith, MD, FACEP, Secretary and Councilor; Annalise Sorrentino, MD, FACEP; John Woods, CPC, CCSP

Others participating: Tanya L. Downing, ACEP staff liaison; Pam Shirey, ACEP staff.

#### Agenda

- I. Call to Order
- II. Presentation of Awards
  - A. Longevity Awards
  - B. Tenure Award
  - C. Certificates of Recognition
- III. Leadership and Advocacy Conference
- IV. New Business
- V. Speakers:
  - A. Intro to Burnout Sanford H. Herman, MD, FACEP
  - B. Aging Physicians and Fit for Duty Training Sullivan K. Smith, MD, FACEP
  - C. Pediatrics Annalise Sorrentino, MD, FACEP
  - D. Free Standing Emergency Centers James J. Augustine, MD, FACEP
- VI. Adjourn

### **Major Points Discussed**

- 1. Sanford H. Herman, MD, FACEP, Section Chair, called the meeting to order at 8:00 AM.
- 2. Dr. Herman gave a talk on "Intro to Burnout."

- 3. Sullivan K. Smith, MD, FACEP gave a talk on "Aging Physicians and Fit for Duty Training."
- 4. Annalise Sorrentino, MD, FACEP gave a talk on "Pediatrics."
- 5. James J. Augustine, MD, FACEP gave a talk on "Free Standing Emergency Centers."
- 6. Dr. Herman presented the 2016 Careers in Emergency Medicine Section Longevity and Tenure Awards. Plaques and certificates will be mailed to those not present.

## **Longevity Award**

Edward H. Heneveld, MD, FACEP of Olympic Valley, CA and John P. Santoro, MD, FACEP of Longmeadow, MA received the award for the longest active careers in emergency medicine (41 years each). Dr. Heneveld and Dr. Santoro were unable to attend.

#### **Tenure Award**

Douglas M. Hill, DO, FACEP of Morrison, CO received the award for the longest tenure in the same emergency department (42 years).

## **Certificates of Recognition**

Michael T. Fabrizio, DO for 40 years.

Harry E. Kintzi, MD, FACEP for 38 years.

Joseph S. Guarisco, MD, FACEP for 36 years.

John W. Patterson, MD, FACEP for 35 years.

Richard J. Steinmann, MD, FACEP for 35 years.

Thomas E. Terndrup, MD, FACEP for 34 years.

Santosh K. Mathen, MD, FACEP for 33 years.

Robert B. Simonson, DO, FACEP for 31 years.

Robert I. Golomb, MD, FACEP for 30 years.

Juan A. Gonzalez-Sanchez, MD, FACEP for 27 years.

Gus M. Garmel, MD, FACEP for 25 years.

Chelvakumaran R. Jayanathan, MD, FACEP for 25 years.

Mark A. Till, MD, FACEP for 25 years.

Michael Fawcett, MD, FACEP for 23 years.

Otto J. Marquez, MD, FACEP for 23 years.

Rajeev J. Patel, MD, FACEP for 20 years.

The meeting was adjourned at 9:04 AM.