American College of Emergency Physicians Toxicology Section Meeting

Toxicology Section
Monday, October 30, 2017
1:00 - 3:00 PM
Walter E. Washington Convention Center

MINUTES

Section officers participating in the meeting included:

Chair Sam Stellpflug, MD

Chair-Elect Chris Rosenbaum, MD, MSc, FACEP

Secretary Jenna LeRoy, MD

Councillor Jennifer Hannum, MD, FACEP
Alternate Councillor Eric Lavonas, MD, FACEP

ACEP Staff Cynthia Singh, MS

Others participating in the meeting included: Elizabeth Black, Assad Alsufyani, Charlotte Goldfine, Jacob Lebin, Heather Ambrox, Alex Garrard, Alex Manini, Paul Wax, Jennifer Love, Han Tony Gao and Evan Schwarz.

Call to Order

Dr. Stellpflug called the meeting to order at 1:10 pm. Introductions of attendees were made.

Educational Program

Jennifer Hannum, MD, FACEP, ACEP Toxicology Section Councillor, Assistant Professor Wake Forest University School of Medicine presented "Update on the Revision to the Antidote App Section grant" describing the basics of the app and its current updates that are in progress. The Antidote App has been well received in the healthcare community and has been recognized as one of the "10 Mobile Health Apps that are Changing the Industry".

She thanked the group for volunteering to help with input on revisions and updates to the app. Over 50 members helped by providing input on the following topics:

- Rumack Matthew nomogram
- Ethylene glycol calculator
- Elemental iron calculator
- Toxidrome search
- More indications to search
- References
- NOAC reversal agents
- Calculator for weight based dosing

- Messaging option for texting
- Study tool?
- Spacing for different indications
- Units for international users

Old Business

The October 17, 2016 section meeting minutes from ACEP16 were unanimously approved.

New Business

A. Election of the Chair-Elect, Secretary, and Alternate Councillor

It was decided that these positions would be elected via an email survey. A Survey Monkey survey was sent out to the toxicology e-list. The nominations for the positions were approved for the following positions:

Chair-elect: Jenna LeRoy, MD Secretary: Jason Hack, MD, FACEP

Alternate Councillor: Eric Lavonas, MD, FACEP

Newsletter Editor:

Individuals who were interested in the appointed Newsletter Editor position were instructed to send formal emails to Kathryn Mensah, Toxicology Section Staff Liaison. The following individuals expressed interest in the newsletter editor position: Assad Alsufyani, MD, Charlotte Goldfine, and Jacob Lebin. The names were forwarded to the new Toxicology Chair, Chris Rosenbaum, for his decision on the position.

It was decided that the two year Newsletter Editor position will divided up into 8 month periods and will be shared by the three interested parties as co-editors. It will then roll over to the next person for the next 8 months.

The Newsletter Editor position will be assigned as follows:

Jake Lebin November 2017- June 2018
Asaad Alsufyani July 2018 – February 2019
Charlotte Goldfine March 2019 – October 2019

The Toxicology Section Officers for 2017-2019 are:

Chair Chris Rosenbaum, MD, MSc, FACEP

Chair-Elect Jenna LeRoy, MD

Immediate Past Chair Samuel Stellpflug, MD, FACEP

Secretary Jason Hack, MD

Councillor Jennifer Hannum, MD, FACEP

Alternate Councillor Eric Lavonas, MD, FACEP

Newsletter Editor(s) Assad Alsufyani, MD, Charlotte Goldfine, and

Jacob Lebin.

B. Section awards

Jennifer Hannum provided the section awards to Dr. Stellpflug and Dr. Hack:

- ❖ Samuel Stellpflug, MD, FACEP Toxicology Section Chair, 2015-2017
 - "Certificate of Appreciation"
- ❖ Samuel Stellpflug, MD, FACEP Toxicology Section Chair, 2015-2017
 - "Outstanding Section Newsletter October 2015-October 2016"
- ❖ Jason B. Hack, MD, FACEP Newsletter Editor, 2015-2017 "Outstanding Section Newsletter - October 2015-October 2016" Section newsletter

C. Councillor Report

a. Safe injection facilities – no endorsement from ACEP, but did say that we should look into piloting them from harm reduction standpoint.

Other new Business/Open floor:

Paul Wax, MD, Executive Director of American College of Medical Toxicology, provided a report on new CMS billing code for toxicology and joint efforts between ACMT and ACEP toxicology section, including the EMF/MTF research grant.

Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at 2:52pm.