

#### Pediatric Emergency Medicine Section Annual Meeting Minutes ACEP23 • Philadelphia, PA October 11, 2023, 2:30-4:30 pm ET, Room 106AB

The meeting was attended by approximately 25 individuals.

### THESE MINUTES WERE APPROVED BY THE SECTION CHAIR AND ARE PENDING APPROVAL BY THE PEDIATRIC EMERGENCY MEDICINE SECTION AT THE ACEP24 SECTION MEETING. ANY CHANGES WILL APPEAR IN THE MINUTES OF THAT MEETING.

Welcome by Outgoing Section Chair , Dr. Tricia Swan

**Announcement of Election Results** 

Alternate Councillor: Paula Whiteman, MD

Chair-elect: Shiva Kalidindi, MD, MPH

Secretary: Jenny Sanders, MD

#### **Microsite Editors:**

Roxanne Cheung, MD Sherita Lynn Holmes, MD Ruth Hwu, MD

### EMRA Update PEM Committee Update

- Published 2 policy statements.
- Worked with AAP
- Develop POC screening tool.

Dr. Rebecca Leff Dr. Ishimine

**EMage Winner Presentations** 

Dr. Zeretzke-Bien

Winners will be showcased on the section website. 1<sup>st</sup> place wins \$500, 2<sup>nd</sup> place wins \$250, and 3<sup>rd</sup> place wins a \$125 ACEP voucher.

# 1<sup>st</sup> Place "A Case of Morel-Lava-What?" Dr. Nithin Rivi et al, Children's Hospital of Colorado

(unable to attend due to scheduling conflict)



2<sup>nd</sup> Place "Head Scratcher" Dr. Amani Sanchez et al, Dell Children's Medical Center



**3<sup>rd</sup> Place "A Case of Neck Pain." Dr. Roxanne Cheung et al, Lehigh Valley Reilly** Children's Hospital



#### **Updated Section Operational Guidelines vote-**

Officer duties and descriptions updated. Section voted and all in favor of changes to guidelines; no one opposed.

#### **New Pediatric Section Logo Options**

5 new logo options will be emailed to all section members to vote on shortly after Scientific Assembly. The section's favorite log will be chosen as the new section logo.

#### **Open Discussion -**

#### Website Review -

Check out content on our section website. The section was honored with an Outstanding Newsletter Content Award this past year. Several useful educational articles and webinars

**Dr. Zeretzke-Bien** 

#### Dr. Zeretzke-Bien

## Dr. Zeretzke-Bien

### Dr Zeretzke-Bien

were published. In addition, the section held a pediatric airway webinar with Dr. Joshua Nagler earlier in the year that provided 1 CME credit (<u>https://ecme.acep.org/diweb/catalog/item/id/11501725</u>) and this is still available if you are interested in the CME credit.

Outgoing Chair Award for Dr. Swan - Dr. Cristina Zeretzke-Bien

Meeting adjourned at 3:35 pm