

## **Pediatric Emergency Medicine Section**

## **Annual Meeting**

ACEP21 • Boston, MA

Tuesday, October 26, 5:00-7:00 pm

Boston Convention Center, Room 103

Pediatric EM Section Meeting and Reception Meeting Minutes

Attendance included 50+ members.

Chair Dr. Taryn Taylor started the meeting recognizing the hard work of the Pediatric Section over the past year, including hosting 2 PEM fellowship webinars that can be found on the Pediatric Section microsite (http://pediatricsectionwp.acep.org/).

Dr. Denise Whitfield, winner of one of the Section Grants, won \$10,000 for a toolkit and showed the section some of her work, which included a video on complicated childbirth. Many video educational offerings will be available on the ACEP website thanks to the section grant.

Board Liaison Dr. Jeffrey Goodloe gave a report on the state of ACEP. He explained the College is focused on strategic planning and encouraged all section members to check out the strategic plan (<a href="https://www.acep.org/what-we-believe/strategic-plan/">https://www.acep.org/what-we-believe/strategic-plan/</a>) and return any comments by November 4. He was inspired by work of the Pediatric Section over the last year and proud to be the Board Liaison.

Dr. Tricia Swan thanked Taryn Taylor (outgoing chair) for her mentorship over the last year and presented her with a certificate. Dr. Swan also thanked all other outgoing officers for their hard work over the past year. Dr. Swan announced the new elected officers as follows: Alternate Councillor, Dr. Shobhit Jain; Chair-elect, Dr. Cristina Zeretzke-Bien; Secretary, Jennifer Sanders; Microsite Coeditors; Drs John Misdary, Jaryd Zummer, and Yagnaram Ravichandran.

Dr. Michelle Davis provided an EMRA update. She is the Chair-elect of the EMRA Committee. Over the past year, the Pediatrics Basics for EM Trainees was updated and a webinar series for trainees on the pandemic was held. They are working to update the Fellowship database and revamp the fellowship training program.

EMage winners presented their cases. 1<sup>st</sup> place winner was Dr. Caitlin Mueller et al with her case on "Abdominal Distention: Prepare for the Worst!". 2<sup>nd</sup> place winner was Dr. Matt Wiese and Dan Mirsch with their case on "Scurvy". 3<sup>rd</sup> place winner was Dr. Hannah Mezan for her case on "Painful Legs." These cases will be posted on the Pediatric section microsite.

Dr. Paul Ishimine was present to give a Pediatric Committee report as the incoming Chair of the

Committee. The Committee will be working on several joint policy statements over the incoming year, supporting the Pediatric Readiness Project, working on collaboration curriculum, and has 16 objectives for the incoming new year.

Dr. Eric Schmitt provided the Council Report. Dr. Christopher Kang is the new President-elect. It was a busy Council meeting with almost 80 resolutions considered. He encouraged the section to look at the strategic plan and comment by the November 4 deadline as well. Two resolutions on firearms injuries were adopted. A resolution on the harm of marijuana was adopted as well.

Dr. Sharon Mace is looking for pediatric case reports for the ACEP CME journal, CDEM. Case reports or questions can be sent to Mark Paglia (<a href="maglia@acep.org">mpaglia@acep.org</a>).

Mrs. Stephanie Wauson introduced the JACEP Open journal. Please consider submitting your Pediatric Section or Committee work to the Journal. If you have questions about possible submissions, please contact Editor in Chief Dr. Wang at <a href="mailto:jacepopen@acep.org">jacepopen@acep.org</a>.

Dr. Swan adjourned the meeting at 6:30 pm with no group discussion and thanked everyone for their participation in the meeting.