

EMS Pre-hospital Care Section Annual Meeting Minutes

Wednesday, October 11, 2023 4:30 pm – 6:30 pm

Philadelphia Convention Center



THESE MINUTES WERE APPROVED BY THE SECTION CHAIR AND ARE PENDING APPROVAL BY THE EMS PRE-HOSPITAL CARE SECTION AT THE NEXT SCHEDULED MEETING. ANY CHANGES WILL APPEAR IN THE MINUTES OF THAT MEETING.



AMERICAN COLLEGE OF EMERGENCY PHYSICIANS

SECTION ON EMS-PREHOSPITAL CARE Wednesday, October 11, 2023

4:30 pm – 6:30 pm Eastern Time Philadelphia Convention Center, 100 Level, Room 121 A/B/C

Minutes

Call to Order and Welcome

The meeting was called to order and welcoming of the group by Dr. Harry Sibold, as Dr. Holland and Dr. Fairless were unable to attend.

Award Presentation

Dr. Brent Myers was presented with the 2023 Outstanding Contribution in EMS Award. After receiving the award, pictures were taken, and an opportunity for a speech by Dr. Myers was made available.

Board Liaison

Dr. Kristen McCabe-Kline provided the board report emphasizing the important work of the section and the value of EMS to the section. She described the work of the Reimagining EMS workgroup as an opportunity to help set the future agenda of EMS and Disaster Medicine for the college and how it fits into ACEP's strategic plan. Input and feedback was sought from the section.

Council Report

Dr. Harry Sibold provided an overview of the council resolutions.

Resolution 1: Commendation for Patrick Elmes and Resolution 4 Commendation for Rick Murray which the section co-sponsored were passed.

Resolution 27: Addressing Interhospital Transfer Challenges for Rural EDs was referred to the board and Resolution 28: Facilitating EMTALA Interhospital Transfers was adopted. Both of these resolutions had to due with helping to facilitate and improve the transfer process. There was discussion that EMS plays a key role in the transfer process. Ways to provide provide input and serve as a resource were discussed.

Council Resolution 47: Clarification of and Taking a Position Against Use of Excited Delirium Syndrome called for the rescinding of the 2009 white paper on excited delirium and disseminate ACEP current position on excited delirium. It further called for future work on the evaluation and management of in-hospital and out-of-hospital behavioral emergencies should utilize experts in EMS, neurology, emergency psychiatry, and health equity, and also consider the perspectives of community and advocacy leaders work. It was noted that as the college implements this resolution the section should play a key role.

Elections

Matthew Sarasin, MD was nominated from the floor and elected to serve as chair-elect.

Other positions were elected by ballot prior to the meeting.

The leadership for section for 2023-24 will be:

Chair: Dr. Justin Fairless

Chair-Elect: Dr. Matthew Sarasin

Secretary/Newsletter Editor: Dr. Shaila Coffey

Councillor: Dr. Matthew Levy Alt. Councillor: Dr. Ryan Winchell

Immediate Past Chair: Dr. Dustin Holland Member-at-Large: Dr. Craig Cooley

Sponsor Presentation

OnStar provided a presentation to the group that discussed OnStar and Advanced Automatic Crash Notification, Correlation of Injury Severity Prediction(ISP), and Provision of ISP/AACN to 911 PSAP's and Field Responders. There was agreement about the value and the potential of the information. Several ideas were discussed about how to best utilize the program.

Updates

ASPR provided updates on various activities and potential upcoming funding opportunities.

Other Business

With no other business the meeting was adjourned by Dr. Sibold.