AMERICAN COLLEGE OF EMERGENCY PHYSICIANS

Quality Improvement and Patient Safety Section Meeting at Scientific Assembly in San Diego, CA

October 2, 2018

MINUTES

Participants

Committee members present for all or part of the meeting included: Joe Thomas, Ross Berkeley, Jeff Nielson, Carl Berdahl, Scott Korvek, Susan Nezda, Paul Casey, David Nestler, Carolyn Holland, Ross Littauer, Joshua Gauger, Sean Michael, Nicole Franks, Emelia Hakes, Matthew McCarty, William Dalsey, Adam Rodos, Robert Redwood, Joe Tennyson, Mike Phelan, Sara Manning, Sandra Scott, Eric Adkins, Arjun Venkatesh, Kevin Cullison, Elizabeth Plemmons, Alex Asp, Tim Plonk, Kian Preston-Suni, John Sarwark, Robert Risch, Alison Panosian, Pawan Goyal, Kelly Burlison, Conrad Smit, Joseph Kennedy

Agenda

Welcome from the Chair Councilor Report Quality and Patient Safety Committee Update E-QUAL Update Keynote Presentation Sponsor: Collective Medical Elections QIPS Grant Update QIPS Resident Award Winner Incoming Chair Remarks and New Business Adjourn

Major Points Discussed

- 1. Section members were welcomed to the meeting and introductions were made by Dr. Sharp. The agenda and ballots were distributed for review.
- 2. Dr. Sharp provided a brief report on council discussions. Dr. Vidor Friedman was affirmed as the ACEP President. Dr. William Jaquis was elected as the President-Elect and Dr. Jon Mark Hirshon was elected as the Vice President. Dr. Anthony Cirillo and Dr. John Finnell were selected as new board members.

ACEP has launched its new member communication website, EngagED.

3. Dr. Phelan provided an update form the Quality and Patient Safety Committee. The committee has partnered and worked with technical expert panels and entities such as the National Quality Forum (NQF), the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), the American College of Radiology (ACR), and the American Urology Association (AUA) to respond to quality initiatives. The committee conducted a Quality Measures Strategic Planning Summit in Dallas, TX in February 2018

Quality Improvement and Patient Safety Section Meeting, October 2, 2018 Page 2 of 3

and developed a 3-year roadmap for identified priorities. They also engaged in measure validation projects with Yale university and the EMI Section. The committee regularly holds quarterly meetings with CMS for clarification on QCDR measures that require consolidation, reconciliation, and harmonization. The committee has submitted a formal comment on the 2018 QPP Proposed Rule from CMS. Current projects within QPSC are focused on developing an OPPE survey and a Behavioral Health Toolkit.

- 4. Dr. Venkatesh provided a brief update about E-QUAL. E-QUAL is a project that engages emergency clinicians and leverages emergency departments to improve clinical outcomes, coordination of care and to reduce costs. There four main quality initiatives in which to participate in: 1) Improve outcomes for patients with sepsis, 2) Improve the value of ED chest pain evaluation by reducing avoidable testing and admissions of low risk patients, 3) Reduce avoidable testing for low risk patients through implementation of Choosing Wisely recommendations, and 4) Reducing opioid-associated harm through safer prescribing and the implementation of evidence-based interventions. Through the 2018-year, E-QUAL has been very successful by having 1,017 EDs participate across 48 states. Each collaborative has displayed improvement within these four areas.
- 5. Dr. Ashley Sievers presented the keynote presentation on "Optimizing the Patient Experience"
- 6. Dr. Ben Zaniello from Collective Medical, section meeting sponsor, provided a brief presentation of their product and its impact within emergency medicine.
- 7. Dr. Sharp led the section through the yearly elections. Candidates nominated prior to meeting had their respective bios presented to the section.

Chair Elect – Dr. Shashank Ravi Newsletter Editor – Dr. Carolyn Holland Website Editor – Dr. Ramana Feeser

Dr. Sharp opened the floor for nominations for any of the four available positions of Chair-Elect, Newsletter Editor, Website Editor, and Councilor. The positions for Chair-Elect, Newsletter Editor, and Website Editor received no nominations from the floor. With no contesting candidates, the positions of Chair-Elect, Newsletter Editor, and Website Editor were elected by acclamation.

Dr. Susan Nedza was nominated for Councilor from the floor and Dr. Bobby Redwood was nominated as the alternate councilor. No further nominations were presented from the floor. Dr. Nedza was elected by acclamation to the position of Councilor and Dr. Redwood was elected as alternate councilor by acclamation.

Leadership for the Committee Year 2018-2019: Chair: Dr. Venkatesh Bellamkonda Chair-Elect – Dr. Shashank Ravi Immediate Past Chair: Dr. Brian Sharp Newsletter Editor – Dr. Carolyn Holland Website Editor – Dr. Ramana Feeser Councilor – Dr. Susan Nedza Alternate Councilor – Dr. Bobby Redwood

Leadership elections concluded and were confirmed.

Quality Improvement and Patient Safety Section Meeting, October 2, 2018 Page **3** of **3**

Dr. Sharp opened the floor for a special election to revise the current section logo. Six logo designs were collected over the previous two months and presented to the section. Ballots were distributed at the beginning of the meeting to all members. Members voted, and ballots were collected. Voting results were:

Logo 1 received......3 votes Logo 2 received.....10 votes Logo 3 received......4 votes Logo 5 received......0 votes Logo 6 received......3 votes

Logo 2 was confirmed as the new logo for the QIPS Section.

8. Dr. Sharp presented an update to the QIPS Grant. The past year's grant, Opioid Prescribing in the ED – Assessing Best Practices and Providing Resources for Providers and Patients, is still ongoing. A survey was developed by a workgroup and approved by IRB at the University of Wisconsin. It was then, distributed to the ACEP QIPS and Medical Directors Sections. 62 surveys were completed, representing 54 Emergency Departments. Of those EDs, 25 were academic and 29 were non-academic. The next step for this grant is to distribute the results and use the results to direct improvement as added resources to ACEP's website.

A second grant update was provided, Acute Post-Resuscitation Debriefing (APRD) in the ED: Needs Assessment and Development of a Checklist and Video Tutorial. This grant will be the focus for the current year's work and is partnered with the Pediatric Emergency Medicine Section. Dr. Charlie Inboriboon provided the update. The goal is to develop and evidence and consensus-based APRD toolkit to guide leaders to develop local processes and to assist facilitators to conduct effective APRDs. This will be conducted in a multi-phased approach and anyone willing to participate, is encouraged to do so.

- 9. The QIPS Resident Award was presented to Dr. Ross Littauer by Dr. Sharp and Dr. Bellamkonda. Dr. Littauer presented his work as a resident while at Yale New Haven Hospital EM Residency Program. His work focused on reducing risks for inter-hospital transfer of patients.
- 10. Dr. Venkatesh Bellamkonda was introduced as the incoming QIPS Chair. Dr. Bellamkonda presented Dr. Sharp a certificate for his leadership and hard work guiding the section over the last year. Dr. Bellamkonda discussed his excitement for the coming year and encouraged members to engage and participate in the work the section will be focusing on.
- 11. Dr. Bellamkonda opened he floor for new business to discuss. No new business was presented.

Other topics for discussion

Committee members were thanked for their hard work over the course of the last year and the meeting was adjourned.