AMERICAN COLLEGE OF EMERGENCY PHYSICIANS SECTION ON EMS-PREHOSPITAL CARE

Monday, October 14, 2013 12:30 PM to 2:30 PM Sheraton Hotel Room: Ravenna A-C

MINUTES

Section officers in attendance: James M. Cusick, MD, FACEP; (Chair) Howard K. Mell, MD, MPH, FACEP; (Chair-Elect) Marc Eckstein, MD, FACEP; (Immediate Past-Chair) Melissa W. Costello, MD, FACEP; (Secretary) Mark E.A. Escott, MD, MPH, FACEP (Newsletter Co-Editor and Member-at-Large); Gaston Costa, MD (Newsletter Co-Editor); Andrew Bern, MD, FACEP (Board Liaison); Sabina Braithwaite, MD, MPH, FACEP (Alternate Councillor)

Section members and guests in attendance: Roy Alson, MD, PhD, FACEP; Jeff Beeson, DO, FACEP; Gerald Beltran, DO; Ethan Brandler, MD, MPH, FACEP; Christopher Colwell, MD, FACEP; Marc Conterato, MD, FACEP; Craig Cooley, MD, FACEP; Eric Cooper, MD, FACEP; Elena Ewert, MD; Justin Fairless, DO; Ray Fowler, MD, FACEP; Ralph Frascone, MD, FACEP; Joshua Gaither, MD, FACEP; William Gerard, MD, FACEP; Anthony Gilchrest, MPA; Scott Gilmore, MD, FACEP; Jeffrey Goodloe, MD, FACEP; Scott Goldberg, MD; Daniel Hankins, MD, FACEP; George Hevesy, MD, FACEP; Shane Jenks, MD; Jacob Keeperman, MD; Heidi Knowles, MD, FACEP; Danita, Koehler, MD; Douglas Kupas, MD, FACEP; Michael Levy, MD, FACEP; Jeffrey Lindsey, PhD, MP, EFO; David Lobel, MD, FACEP; Mary Mercer, MD; Wilford Mills, IV, MD, FACEP; Brett Monroe, MD; John Morgan, MD; Jose Nable, MD; Joshua Nackenson, NREMT-P; Erin Noste, MD; Steve Olmstead, MD, FACEP; Michael Pasirstein, MD; Gina Piazza, DO, FACEP; Christopher Poulsen, DO, FACEP; Jason Pryor, MD; Neha Puppala, MD; Ritu Sahni, MD, MPH, FACEP; Curtis Sandy, MD, FACEP; Josef Schenks, MD; Katie Tataris, MD; Calvin Terrell, MD, FACEP; Gerad Troutman, MD; Christine Van Dille, MD, FACEP; Veer Vithalani, MD; Alexei Wagner, MD, MBA; Alvin Wang, DO; Marvin Wayne, MD, FACEP; Stefanie Wise, MD; R. Joy Ybarra, MD; Clement Yeh, MD, FACEP; Neil Yoder, DO, FACEP; Ahmed Zakariah, MD

ACEP staff in attendance: Patrick Elmes, EMT/P (ret), Manager; EMS & Disaster Preparedness; Rick Murray, LP, EMT/P, Director, EMS & Disaster Preparedness

AGENDA

Da Cucial

1.	Call to Order	Dr. Cusick
II.	Opening Remarks	Dr. Cusick
III.	Award Presentation (1 PM) ACEP Outstanding Contribution in EMS	Dr. Rosenau
IV.	Section Officer Election	Dr. Cusick Mr. Elmes
V.	New Chair Remarks	Dr. Mell
VI.	Presentation by: HeartRescue Project of the Medtronic Foundation	Dr. Rea

Call to Ondan

VII. Presentation by: The University of Florida, College of Medicine, Network for Pancreatic Organ Donors with Diabetes (nPOD)
 Ms. Ball
 VIII. Board Liaison Report
 Dr. Bern
 IX. Council Meeting Report
 Dr. Mackey
 X. EMS Committee Report
 Dr. Costello

XI. ACEP, EMS and Disaster Department Update Mr. Elmes

XII. New Business Dr. Mell

XIII. Adjourn Dr. Mell

Major Points Discussed

Call to Order and Opening Remarks - Dr. Cusick

Dr. Cusick called the meeting to order and members introduced themselves around the room

Presentation by: HeartRescue Project of the Medtronic Foundation - Dr. Rea

Ten steps to improve SCA survival in your community and lessons from the HeartRescue Project

Presentation by: The University of Florida, College of Medicine-Ms. Ball

Network for Pancreatic Organ Donors with Diabetes (nPOD)

ACEP Outstanding Contribution in EMS Award Presentation - Dr. Rosenau

The ACEP Outstanding Contribution in EMS was presented to Dr. Daniel Hankins, MD, FACEP

Board Liaison Report - Dr. Bern

Dr. Bern gave the Board Liaison Report including discussion of staff resources, Innovate ED, strong representation of EMS on the ACEP Board of Directors and Integrated Mobile Healthcare.

Elections

The election was by individual paper ballots. The results are as follows:

Chair - Howard K. Mell, MD, MPH, FACEP (automatically from Chair-Elect)

Chair-Elect - Melissa Wysong Costello, MD, FACEP

Secretary - Mark E.A. Escott, MD, MPH, FACEP

Member-at-Large - Gaston A. Costa, MD

Councillor - Sabina A. Braithwaite, MD, FACEP (automatically from Alt. Councillor)

Alternate Councillor - Gina Piazza, DO, FACEP

Immediate Past Chair - James Cusick, MD, FACEP (automatically from Chair)

New Chair Remarks - Dr. Mell

Dr. Mell thanked Dr. Cusick for his service and presented him with a Certificate of Thanks for his service to the section. Dr. Mell outlined his vision and goals for the section moving forward.

Dr. Mell adjourned the meeting at 2:43 PM.