American Association of Women Emergency Physicians



Annual Meeting @ ACEP22
October 1, 2022
1:00 PM – 3:00 PM
Hilton San Francisco, Union Square Hotel

MINUTES

Participants

Participants included approximately fifty section members in-person at ACEP22. A virtual option was not available for this event.

Agenda

- 1. Welcome and Introductions
- 2. Appreciation for Current AAWEP Executive Committee
- 3. Membership Trends
- 4. Awards
 - a. AAWEP Section Awards
 - b. ACEP National Award
- 5. ACEP Council Update
 - a. Resolutions
 - b. ACEP Council Meeting Elections
- 6. Incoming Chair Remarks
 - a. Introduction of New AAWEP Section Leaders
 - b. Objectives and Goals for 2022-2023
- 7. Education Program
 - a. Stefanie Simmons, MD, FACEP
 - b. Cherri Hobgood, MD, FACEP, FIFEM
 - c. Niki Thran, MD, FACEP
 - d. Linda Lawrence MD, FACEP

Major Points Discussed

- 1. Outgoing AAWEP Chair, Carrie de Moor welcomed everyone to the American Association of Women Emergency Physicians (AAWEP) Annual Meeting.
 - a. Dr. de Moor thanked the outgoing 2021-2022 AAWEP Executive Committee: Chair: Carrie de Moor, FACEP; Chair Elect: Alecia Gende DO, FACEP; Past Chair: Sarah Hoper MD, JD, FACEP; Secretary: Tiffany Hackett, MD, FACEP; Sr. Resident Rep: Chelsea

- Schmidt, MD; Jr. Resident Rep: Lt. Maria Jose Araujo, MD, USN; Councilor: Andrea Austin, MD, FACEP; Alternate Councilor: Peta Nolan, MD; and ACEP Board Liaison: Alison Haddock, MD, FACEP
- b. Special thanks to Michele Byers, CAE, CMP, DES, and Sydney King for serving as the AAWEP staff liaisons.
- 2. Dr. de Moor reviewed the section's membership trends 2022 Membership: 2,131; 2021 Membership: 2,532; 2020 Membership: 2,156; noting that the pandemic has had an adverse impact on our membership counts but that efforts to grow section membership will hopefully reverse that trend in the coming year.
- 3. Dr. de Moor presented the AAWEP awards to section members and congratulated section members who received ACEP awards or were serving in ACEP leadership roles.
 - AAWEP Awards Resident Rocks It Award: Vivian Tam, MD; Rising Star Award Winner: Monica Saxena, MD, JD; Outstanding Mentor Award: Annalee Baker, MD; ED Director of the Year: Kanthi Kiran, MD
 - b. ACEP Awards John G. Wiegenstein Leadership Award: Rebecca B. Parker, MD, FACEP; Colin C. Rorrie Jr, PhD Award for Excellence in Health Policy: Jennifer L. Wiler, MD, MBA, FACEP; Award for Outstanding Contribution in Research: Deborah Dierks, MD, MSc, FACEP; Community Emergency Medicine Excellence Award: Kamara Graham, MD, FACEP; Spokesperson of the Year: Jennifer Casaletto, MD, FACEP; National Emergency Medicine Faculty Teaching Awards: Suzanne Bentley, MD, MPH, FACEP; Laura Bontempo, MD, FACEP; Petra Duran Gehring, MD, FACEP; Karen Jubanyik, MD; Mimi Lu, MD, FACEP; National Emergency Medicine Junior Faculty Teaching Award: Amber Cibrario, DO; Alexandra Mannix, MD; Robyn Wing, MD
 - c. ACEP Board and Council Officers Kelly Gray-Eurom, MD, FACEP; Melissa Costello, MD, FACEP; Gillian Schmitz, MD, FACEP; Aisha Terry, MD, FACEP, Alison Haddock, MD, FACEP; Heidi Knowles, MD, FACEP; and Kristin McCabe-Kline, MD, FACEP
- 4. Dr. Andrea Austin presented an update on the 2022 ACEP Council activities, including outcomes on resolutions on reproductive rights, protecting ED staff, emergency medicine practice issues, and ACEP election results. Special congratulations to Dr. Aisha Terry, incoming AAWEP Board Liaison, on her election to serve as ACEP President-Elect.
- 5. Incoming AAWEP Section Chair, Dr. Alecia Gende thanked Dr. de Moor for her work as chair of the section and presented the 2022-2023 AWEP Executive Committee Chair: Alecia Gende DO, FACEP; Chair Elect: Andrea Austin, MD, FACEP; Past Chair: Carrie de Moor, FACEP; Secretary: Stephanie Costa, MD, MS; Sr. Resident Rep: C Lt. Maria Jose Araujo, MD, USN; Jr. Resident Rep: Joan Chou, MD; Councilor: Peta Nolan, MD; Alternate Councilor: Christina Shenvi, MD, PhD, FACEP; and ACEP Board Liaison, Aisha Terry, MD, FACEP.
- 6. Dr. Gende outlined her vision for the section and shared her priority objectives for the coming year:
 - Increased engagement with section, including membership growth, increased communications, collaboration across organizations and sections; presence in the ACEP Council meeting and continued promotion of mentorship and leadership opportunities.
 - Emphasis on unique and compelling content for the section newsletter, with the theme of "Our Experiences." Our goal is to produce three newsletters this year.
 - Continued focus on AAWEP's evergreen objectives:

- Promote professional advancement and leadership skills in WEP
- Promote mentorship, mutual support, and positive role models for medical students
- Provide opportunity for WEP to meet, interact and network
- Develop/present educational opportunities for WEP
- Prepare/distribute informative, educational, relatable newsletter
- Serve as resource for ACEP Board and leadership
- Develop roster of public relations and legislative expertise of WEP
- Provide pathway to leadership within the organization
- 7. The business meeting of the AAWEP Section was adjourned and the speakers for the education program were introduced.
 - a. Stefanie Simmons, MD, FACEP presented on the "Professional Well-Being Landscape." She spoke on behalf of the section refreshments sponsor, Envision Physician Services.
 - b. Cherri Hobgood, MD, FACEP, FIFEM, presented on "Barriers, Challenges and Solutions to Gender Equity in Emergency Medicine."
 - c. Niki Thran, MD, FACEP presented on "Why I Ran for Office and Why You Should Too."
 - d. Linda Lawrence MD, FACEP presented on "Career Agility-Key to a Fulfilling Career."
- 8. Dr. Gende thanked everyone for attending and concluded the section meeting.