

April 16, 2020

The Honorable Roger Marshall 312 Cannon House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Raul Ruiz 2342 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Dr. Marshall and Dr. Ruiz:

On behalf of the 39,000 emergency physicians, emergency medicine residents, and medical students, the American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP) is proud to support your legislation to ensure every emergency physician has medical staff due process rights. This is an important safeguard that will ensure all emergency physicians have access to a fair due process procedure.

The right to due process is well established in the United States health care system, found in the Healthcare Quality Improvement Act of 1986 and affirmed in the 14th Amendment to the Constitution of the United States. Emergency physician due process rights help sustain and advance quality patient care and patient safety. The threat of termination or the actual termination of physicians without the right of a fair hearing prevents emergency physicians from fully advocating for their patients for fear of retribution.

For these reasons, ACEP believes that all emergency physician contracts should include a due process clause regardless of whether those physicians are directly employed by a hospital or they provide emergency medical services at a hospital through a group or individual contract.

ACEP thanks you for your leadership on this important issue and we look forward to working with you to enact this legislation.

Sincerely,

William Cpgus

William P. Jaquis, MD, MSHQS, FACEP ACEP President

WASHINGTON, DC OFFICE

2121 K Street NW, Suite 325 Washington, DC 20037-1886

202-728-0610 800-320-0610 www.acep.org

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

William P. Jaquis, MD, MSHQS, FACEP President Mark S. Rosenberg, DO, MBA, FACEP President-Flect Jon Mark Hirshon, MD, MPH, PhD, FACEP Chair of the Board Gillian R. Schmitz, MD, FACEP Vice President Christopher S. Kang, MD, FACEP Secretary-Treasurer Vidor E. Friedman, MD, FACEP Immediate Past President Stephen H. Anderson, MD. FACEP L. Anthony Cirillo, MD, FACEP John T. Finnell II, MD, MSc, FACEP Jeffrey M. Goodloe, MD, FACEP Alison J. Haddock, MD, FACEP Gabor D. Kelen, MD. FACEP Aisha T. Terry, MD, MPH, FACEP Rvan A. Stanton, MD, FACEP

COUNCIL OFFICERS

Gary R. Katz, MD, MBA, FACEP Speaker Kelly Gray-Eurom, MD, MMM, FACEP Vice Speaker

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

Dean Wilkerson, JD, MBA, CAE