

April 26, 2023

The Honorable Roger Marshall, M.D. 479A Russell Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Chuck Grassley 135 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Todd Young 185 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510 The Honorable Jeanne Shaheen 506 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Dick Durbin 711 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Amy Klobuchar 425 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Senators Marshall, Shaheen, Grassley, Durbin, Young, and Klobuchar:

On behalf of the American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP) and our 40,000 members, thank you for introducing S. 1080, the Cooper Davis Act. This legislation will require social media companies to report to law enforcement when illicit fentanyl and other deadly drugs and substances are sold or distributed through their platforms.

As emergency physicians on the frontlines of our nation's substance use epidemic, we witness every day the toll that illicit drugs, such as fentanyl, take on our patients, their families, and our communities. ACEP appreciates your bipartisan leadership in helping to reduce the impact and availability of illicit substances, and ensuring that all stakeholders play an appropriate role in addressing the overdose crisis occurring all across the country. Your efforts will help ensure that those who exploit social media platforms to sell and distribute illicit drugs are held accountable, and will support our broader collective efforts to stem the tide of the substance use epidemic affecting all of our communities.

Thank you once again for your continued bipartisan leadership on this important issue. We urge Congress to support this legislation, and ACEP and our members stand ready to help secure its enactment. Should you have any questions or require any further information, please do not hesitate to contact Ryan McBride, ACEP's Congressional Affairs Director, at <a href="mailto:rmcbride@acep.org">rmcbride@acep.org</a>.

Sincerely,

WASHINGTON, DC OFFICE

901 New York Ave, NW Suite 515E Washington DC 20001-4432

202-728-0610 800-320-0610 www.acep.org

## BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Christopher S. Kang, MD, FACEP Aisha T. Terry, MD, MPH, FACEP President-Elect L. Anthony Cirillo, MD, FACEP Chair of the Board John T. Finnell, MD, MSc, FACEP Vice President James L. Shoemaker, Jr., MD, FACEP Secretary-Treasurer Gillian R. Schmitz, MD, FACEP Immediate Past President Jeffrey M. Goodloe, MD. FACEP Alison J. Haddock, MD, FACEP Gabor D. Kelen, MD, FACEP Rami R. Khoury, MD, FACEP Heidi C. Knowles, MD, FACEP Kristin B. McCabe-Kline, MD, FACEP Ryan A. Stanton, MD, FACEP

## COUNCIL OFFICERS

Kelly Gray-Eurom, MD, MMM, FACEP Speaker Melissa W. Costello, MD, FACEP Vice Speaker

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

Susan E. Sedory, MA, CAE

Christopher S. Kang, MD, FACEP ACEP President

20mi Cp