Congress of the United States House of Representatives

Washington, DC 20515

November 5, 2021

The Honorable Xavier Becerra Secretary U.S. Department of Health and Human Services 200 Independence Avenue SW Washington, DC 20201 The Honorable Janet Yellen Secretary U.S. Department of the Treasury 1500 Pennsylvania Avenue NW Washington, DC 20220

The Honorable Martin J. Walsh Secretary U.S. Department of Labor 200 Constitution Avenue NW Washington, DC 20210

Dear Secretary Becerra, Secretary Yellen, and Secretary Walsh:

We write regarding the interim final rule (IFR) released on September 30 entitled "Requirements Related to Surprise Billing; Part II". The bipartisan No Surprises Act, passed by Congress in December 2020, was one of the most important patient protection bills in American history, but its success will depend on your departments following the letter of law in its implementation. We urge you to amend the IFR in order to align the law's implementation with the legislation Congress passed.

Congress passed the No Surprises Act after extensive bipartisan and bicameral deliberations to protect patients from surprise medical bills and create a balanced process to resolve payment disputes between insurance plans and health care providers. During these deliberations, multiple proposals were considered including a benchmark rate, an independent dispute resolution (IDR) process, and a hybrid. Following a comprehensive process that included hearings, markups, and extensive negotiations, Congress rejected a benchmark rate and determined the best path forward for patients was to authorize an open negotiation period coupled with a balanced IDR process.

The No Surprises Act specified an IDR process that takes patients out of the middle of payment disputes. It allows providers and payors to bring any relevant information to support their payment offers for consideration, except for billed charges and public payor information. Per this process, the certified IDR entity shall consider:

- Median in-network rates
- Provider training and quality of outcomes
- Market share of parties
- Patient acuity or complexity of services
- In the case that a provider is a facility: teaching status, case mix, and scope of services
- Demonstrations of previous good faith efforts to negotiate in-network rates
- Prior contract history between the two parties over the previous four years

The process laid out in the law expressly directs the certified IDR entity to consider each of these listed factors should they be submitted, capturing the unique circumstance of each billing dispute without causing any single piece of information to be the default one considered.

Unfortunately, the parameters of the IDR process in the IFR released on September 30 do not reflect the way the law was written, do not reflect a policy that could have passed Congress, and do not create a balanced process to settle payment disputes. The IFR directs IDR entities to begin with the assumption that the median in-network rate is the

appropriate payment amount prior to considering other factors. This directive establishes a de-facto benchmark rate, making the median in-network rate the default factor considered in the IDR process. This approach is contrary to statute and could incentivize insurance companies to set artificially low payment rates, which would narrow provider networks and jeopardize patient access to care – the exact opposite of the goal of the law. It could also have a broad impact on reimbursement for in-network services, which could exacerbate existing health disparities and patient access issues in rural and urban underserved communities.

We appreciate the complex nature of the patient protections that must be established and look forward to a final rule that accurately reflects Congress's multi-year bipartisan and bicameral work to pass this landmark legislation. Therefore, we urge you to revise the IFR to align with the law as written by specifying that the certified IDR entity should <u>not</u> default to the median in-network rate and should instead consider all of the factors outlined in the statute without disproportionately weighting one factor.

Thank you for your continued efforts on this important matter. We look forward to working with you to ensure the best outcomes for our patients and the health of our communities.

Sincerely,

Thomas R. Suozzi Member of Congress

I homes R. Sur

Raul Ruiz, M.D. Member of Congress Brad R. Wenstrup, D.P.M. Member of Congress

From R. Warn

Larry Bucshon, M.D. Member of Congress

Xury Buchan

Additional Signatories

Alma S. Adams, Ph.D.

Colin Allred

Jodey C. Arrington

Cindy Axne

Ami Bera, M.D.

Jack Bergman

Andy Biggs

Dan Bishop

Sanford D. Bishop, Jr.

Mike Bost

Julia Brownley

Vern Buchanan

Tim Burchett

Michael C. Burgess, M.D.

Salud Carbajal

André Carson

Earl L. "Buddy" Carter, R.Ph.

Liz Cheney

Judy Chu

Steve Cohen

Tom Cole

J. Luis Correa

Jim Costa

Charlie Crist

Jason Crow

Sharice L. Davids

Danny K. Davis

Madeleine Dean

Suzan DelBene

M. 1 D.C. 1.

Mark DeSaulnier

Neal P. Dunn, M.D.

Jake Ellzey

Tom Emmer

Adriano Espaillat

Ron Estes

Dwight Evans

Randy Feenstra

A. Drew Ferguson, IV

Brian Fitzpatrick

Chuck Fleischmann

John Garamendi Andrew R. Garbarino

Louie Gohmert
Jimmy Gomez
Josh Gottheimer
Mark E. Green, M.D.
Glenn Grothman
Michael Guest
Josh Harder

Andy Harris, M.D. Brian Higgins

J. French Hill Ashley Hinson Chrissy Houlahan Richard Hudson

Ronny L. Jackson, M.D Sheila Jackson Lee Chris Jacobs

Dusty Johnson

Eddie Bernice Johnson Henry C. "Hank" Johnson Jr.

John Joyce, M.D. John Katko Mike Kelly Daniel T. Kildee Derek Kilmer Young Kim Ron Kind

Raja Krishnamoorthi Darin LaHood Doug LaMalfa

Conor Lamb Doug Lamborn James R. Langevin Jake LaTurner

Barbara Lee
Debbie Lesko
Julia Letlow
Mike Levin
Ted W. Lieu
Barry Loudermilk

Alan Lowenthal Frank D. Lucas Stephen F. Lynch Nicole Malliotakis Carolyn B. Maloney

Sean Patrick Maloney
Tracey Mann
Lucy McBath
James P. McGovern
David B. McKinley P.E

Peter Meijer Grace Meng Dan Meuser Carol D. Miller

Mariannette J. Miller-Meeks, M.D.

Alex X. Mooney Joseph D. Morelle Frank J. Mrvan

Gregory F. Murphy, M.D.

Stephanie Murphy Jerrold Nadler Grace F. Napolitano Dan Newhouse

Eleanor Holmes Norton

Devin Nunes Jimmy Panetta Bill Pascrell, Jr. Ed Perlmutter Dean Phillips Bill Posey Tom Reed

Guy Reschenthaler

Tom Rice David Rouzer

Lucille Roybal-Allard

Bobby L. Rush Tim Ryan Linda T. Sánchez

Linda T. Sánchez Bradley S. Schneider David Schweikert Austin Scott

David Scott
Pete Sessions
Terri A. Sewell
Brad Sherman
Mike Simpson
Albio Sires

Christopher H. Smith

Jason Smith
Lloyd Smucker
Elise Stefanik
Eric Swalwell
Van Taylor
Mike Thompson
Rashida Tlaib
Ritchie Torres
Michael R. Turner

Jefferson Van Drew, D.M.D.

Beth Van Duyne Nydia M. Velázquez Jackie Walorski Daniel Webster Bruce Westerman Robert J. Wittman Steve Womack John Yarmuth Don Young CC: Daniel Barry, Acting General Counsel, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Laurie Schaffer, Principal Deputy General Counsel, U.S. Department of the Treasury Peter Constantine, Associate Solicitor for Legal Counsel, U.S. Department of Labor Lynn Eisenberg, General Counsel, U.S. Office of Personnel Management