Daily Schedule (May 15 - 18, 2016)

The 2016 Leadership & Advocacy Conference will offer thought-provoking, inspiring and challenging sessions by nationally recognized speakers and key decision makers who will provide you with the inside information and skills you need to maximize your effect as an emergency medicine leader and advocate.

Faculty and Courses (subject to change)
Check back for the most updated information.

Sunday, May 15

7:30 am - 6:00 pm Registration
7:30 am - 12:00 pm Emergency Medicine Physicians (EMP) Meeting
8:00 am - 12:00 pm Parliamentary Training Meeting
8:30 am - 4:30 pm Chapter Executives Forum
10:00 am - 3:00 pm CEDR Quality Measures Meeting
11:00 am - 12:00 pm EMRA Health Policy Committee Meeting
11:00 am - 3:00 pm National Sobering Collaborative Meeting
11:30 am - 2:30pm EMF Board of Trustees Meeting  
12:30 pm - 5:00 pm Council Steering Committee Meeting 
12:30 pm - 5:00pm Health Policy Primer
Presented by EMRA and ACEP's Young Physician Section
1:00 pm - 3:00pm State Legislative/Regulatory Committee Meeting  
1:00 pm - 3:00 pm Military Readiness Collaboration
2:00 pm - 3:00pm Clinical Data Registry Committee Meeting
2:00 pm - 6:00 pm Freestanding Emergency Centers Section Meeting
3:00 pm - 4:30pm Federal Government Affairs Committee Meeting  
3:00 pm - 5:00 pm EMS Committee Meeting  
4:00 pm - 6:00pm Simply Speaking! The No Sweat Way to Prepare and Deliver Winning Presentations
David Greenberg, CSP  
4:00 pm - 6:00 pm EMRA.org meeting
4:30 pm - 5:30pm NEMPAC Board of Trustees Meeting  
4:30 pm - 6:00pm Public Relations Committee Meeting  
5:30 pm - 6:30pm Resident and Young Physicians Section Reception
5:30 pm - 6:30pm National/Chapter Relations Committee Meeting  
6:00 pm - 8:00 pm NEMPAC VIP Reception (by invitation only)  
8:30 pm - 10:00pm EMF Reception (by invitation only)  
9:30 pm - 11:00 pm Maryland ACEP Dessert Reception

Monday, May 16

8:15 am - 9:00am Breakfast  
9:00 am - 9:40am Welcome
Jay A. Kaplan, MD,FACEP, ACEP President; Dean Wilkerson, JD, MBA, CAE, ACEP Executive Director; Gordon B. Wheeler
9:40 am - 10:30 am Disruptive Innovation – Challenging Times for Providers and Patients
Jay A. Kaplan, MD, FACEP, ACEP President; Steven J.Stack, MD, FACEP, AMA President; Rick Pollack, AHA President
10:30 am - 10:50 am Break  
10:55 am - 11:45 am ACEP Quality Initiatives under the Affordable Care Act and MACRA - MIPS and ACEP's Registry (CEDR) and Quality Initiatives
Stephen K. Epstein, MD, MPP, FACEP; Patrick H. Conway; Sanket Baralay 
11:50 am - 12:50 pm Alternative Payment Models - Are They a Win Win?
William P. Jaquis, MD, FACEP; Susan M. Nedza, MD, FACEP 
1:00 pm - 1:50 pm LUNCHCharlie Cook
featuring Keynote Speaker Charlie Cook and award presentations
1:55 pm - 2:30 pm Disruptive Innovation - Transforming Clinical Practice Initiative 
Stacie Jones; Arjun K. Venkatesh, MD, MBA; Jeremiah Schuur, MD, FACEP; Ricardo Martinez
2:30 pm - 3:30 pm Hill Staff Speak Out 
Natalie L. Kirilichin, MD; Lt. Col. (Dr.) Robert Mabry; Kyle Fischer, MD, MPH
2:30 pm - 3:30 pm What Happens After a Bill Becomes Law - Good and Bad Regulations
Barbara Tomar; Emily Graham, RHIA, CCS-P; Marjorie Kanof, MD
3:30 pm - 4:00 pm Break  
4:00 pm - 5:00 pm State Strategies to Deal with Out of Network/Balance Billing 
Alison Haddock, MD, FACEP; Edward R. Gaines, III, JD, CCP; Steven B. Kailes, MD, FACEP
4:00 pm - 6:00 pm Media Training  
6:00 pm - 7:00 pm Welcome Reception  
  Dine Around Fundraisers
6:15 pm - 7:15 pm District of Columbia Chapter Meeting

Tuesday, May 17

7:30 am - 8:00 am Breakfast
Jay A. Kaplan, MD, FACEP, ACEP President
8:00 am - 9::00 am Invited Members of Congress
Rep. Joe Heck (R-NV)
Rep Raul Ruiz (D-CA)
9:15 am - 9:30 am ACEP/NEMPAC Activity in the 2016 Elections
Peter Jacoby, MD, FACEP, NEMPAC Chair
9:00 am - 11:30 am Advocacy Training and Handout of Materials
 Jay A. Kaplan, MD, FACEP, ACEP President; Rep. Raul Ruiz; Brad Gruehn; Christopher Kush
11:30 am Box Lunches
11:30 am - 12:15 pm Buses Depart for Capitol Hill  
1:00 pm - 5:00 pm Congressional Visits
Don't miss the Hospitality Suites on both the House and Senate side for down time between meetings
5:00 pm - 7:00 pm Congressional Reception  
  Dine Around Dinners
6:00 pm - 6:30 pm EMRA and ACOEP Resident Chapter

Wednesday, May 18 Leadership Day (CME Courses)

7:30 am - 8:00 am Leadership Breakfast
8:00 am - 8:15 am Welcome/Purpose
Jay A. Kaplan, MD, FACEP, ACEP President; Robert W. Strauss, Jr. MD, FACEP
8:15 am - 9:00 am Sink or Swim Together: The AMA Strategic Plan
Steven J. Stack, MD, FACEP
9:00 am - 9:50 am Panel: Succession: Bringing up Young Leaders
Robert W. Strauss, Jr., MD, FACEP (Moderator); Jay A. Kaplan, MD, FACEP; Kevin M. Klauer, MD, FACEP; Matthew Rudy, MD; Steven J. Stack, MD, FACEP  
9:50 am - 10:05 am Break  
10:05 am - 10:55 am Opportunities for Emergency Medicine to Lead
Paul Auerbach, MD, FACEP
10:55 am - 11:40 pm Leadership Innovations - Evidence Based
Kevin M. Klauer, MD, FACEP
11:40 am - 12:30 pm Lunch with ACEP President-Elect
Rebecca Parker, MD, FACEP  
11:30 pm - 1:15 pm Generations at Work
Tracy G. Sanson, MD, FACEP
1:15 pm - 1:45 pm Leadership Lessons to Renew Resilience and Banish Burnout
Jay A. Kaplan, MD, FACEP, ACEP President
1:45 pm - 2:30 pm Strategies to Enhance Leadership Diversity: A Panel Discussion
Rebecca Parker, MD, FACEP (Moderator); Michael J. Baker, MD, FACEP; Aisha Liferidge, MD, FACEP; Lt. Col. Linda Lawrence, MD, FACEP
2:30 pm Review of Day
Jay A. Kaplan, MD, FACEP, ACEP President