Quality Improvement & Patient Safety

Resident & Fellows Awards

The QIPS Section has established two annual awards to recognize the many efforts towards promoting quality improvement and patient safety.

  1. QIPS Quality & Safety Award for post-training EM physicians with outstanding service in advancing quality and/or patient safety.
  2. QIPS Resident Quality Award for resident EM physicians or fellows who demonstrate excellence in, and a passion for quality improvement.


Quality & Safety Service Award Recipients

2020 - Dr. Shobhit Jain, MD, FACEP


Past Resident Award Recipients

2020 - Dr. Victoria Terentiev, NYU Langone Health

  • Dr. Terentiev and her resident team piloted a novel program in which medical students served as virtual discharge counselors for COVID-19 patients via teleconference to provide in-depth, dedicated counseling regarding a COVID-19 diagnosis. 


2019 - Dr. Carolyn Lanam, George Washington University

  • Dr. Lanam led an effort to analyze the efficacy of a quality video review-based educational intervention in minimizing pulse check times and maximizing compression ratios for all out-of-hospital cardiac arrests.


2018 - Dr. Ross Littauer, Yale University

  • Dr. Littauer's project focuses on reengineering inter-hospital transfers for subspecialty care for patients with nontraumatic intracranial hemorrhage that standardized clinical care goals and enhanced inter-disciplinary communication.


2017 - Dr. Molly Tolins, University of Washington

  • Dr. Tolins launched a project that assessed the feasibility of and satisfaction with a smartphone application for wound-care follow-up in addition to standard of care in two urban Emergency Department populations.
[ Feedback → ]