• Popular Recommendations

  • PEER
  • ultrasound
  • LLSA
  • sepsis

Maintenance of Certification™ (MOC)

Designed by the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS), the MOC process is an ongoing measurement of six core competencies: patient care, interpersonal and communication skills, professionalism, system-based practice, practice-based learning, and medical knowledge. Each of the 24 ABMS member boards takes its own approach to MOC, but all follow the ABMS-required four-part process designed to keep certification continuous.

How can ACEP help me meet these requirements?

Emergency physicians have been using ACEP educational activities to prepare for examinations, stay current with medical knowledge, and advance the quality of patient care for more than 40 years. Click the icons below to learn how ACEP can also help you maintain your certification.

ABEM Maintenance of Certification

The American Board of Emergency Medicine (ABEM) implements the ABEM MOC program and monitors participation for its diplomates. ABEM sets the national standards and requirements for certification and Maintenance of Certification for emergency medicine and its subspecialties.

[ Feedback → ]