EMS Issues Summit 2010

On July 29th, 2010, a large group of EMS, emergency medical, and federal stakeholders gathered in Washington, DC to discuss current issues that face EMS. The purpose of the meeting was to develop a strategy to try and address identified areas for improvement within the EMS industry. The overall list of issues included nine specific areas that was developed during a recent meeting of the Federal Interagency Committee on EMS (FICEMS).

The group narrowed down this list to the top three areas they thought need attention first, and that could be resolved within a 12 month time frame. These areas include, in order of priority: 1) EMS Standardization 2) EMS Funding, 3) EMS Safety. During the day-long meeting, the group developed priority items to be addressed, action plans and recommended stakeholders to complete those items. The notes from meeting, including the previous information, will be made available once editing has been completed.

The participants included :

Advocates for EMS
Kurt Krumperman, MS, NREMT-P
Dr. Bruce Walz

American Academy of Pediatrics Joseph L. Wright, MD, MPH
Deborah Ann Mulligan, MD

American Ambulance Association Tristan North, SVP for Government Affairs

American College of Emergency Physicians Sabina Braithwaite, MD, FACEP
Rick Murray, EMT-P
Marshall Gardner, EMT-P
Cynthia A. Singh, MS

American Trauma Society Harry Teter, Esq

Association of Air Medical Services Dan Hankins, MD, FACEP, CMTE
Dave Thomson, MD, FACEP, MS, CMTE

Association of Critical Care Transport Denise Landis
Matt Robinson & EMS Magazine Scott Cravens

Federal Interagency Committee on EMS Robert R Bass, MD, FACEP

Institute of Medicine (IOM) Ben Wheatley (double check spelling…is it Wheatley or Whealey?)

International Association of Flight Paramedics David Crowley

National Association of EMS Educators Chris Nollette, PhD, NREMT

National Association of EMS Educators JoAnn Freel

National Association of EMS Physicians Theodore R. Delbridge, MD, MPH

National Association of EMS Physicians James V. Dunford, MD

National Association of Emergency Medical Technicians Connie Meyer, NAEMT
Dennis Rowe, NAEMT Director

National Association of State EMS Officials Elizabeth B. Armstrong, MAM, CAE
National EMS Management Association
Gary Wingrove

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Richard Hunt, MD, FACEP

U.S. Department of Homeland Security
Kathryn H. Brinsfield, MD, MPH, FACEP

U.S. Department of Homeland Security
Richard Patrick
Lt. Col. Ben Chlapek
CDR George Gentile

HRSA’s Emergency Medical Services for Children CAPT Daniel Kavanaugh, MSW, LCSW-C

National Highway Traffic Safety Administration Susan McHenry
Dave Bryson

Office of the Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response (ASPR)/DHHS Kevin Yeskey, MD, FACEP

HHS\Emergency Care Coordination Center Andrew R. Roszak, Esquire, JD, MPA, EMT-P


HHS/ASPR Vivek S. Tayal, MD, FACEP

OnStar Thomas Jeffers, Vice President Public Policy

Kaplan Continuing Education (KCE) Ben Holzhauer, Executive Director

Philips Healthcare Nancy Iarrobino, Field Marketing Manager

Philips Healthcare, North America Matt Penzone, Sales and Marketing Specialist

We would also like to recognize the sponsors of the EMS Issues Summit. It was with their support that this meeting was made possible.


Kaplan EMS Fire Logo       Phillips logo simple     On Star Logo 
[ Feedback → ]