The American College of Emergency Physicians exists to support quality emergency medical care, and to promote the interests of emergency physicians. This idea guides its Board of Directors, Council and Committees. ACEP's Executive Director, Dean Wilkerson, oversees the daily administration of the College.

Watch, read and listen to key Leadership Messages




The Board of Directors provides day-to-day management and direction to ACEP and serves as its policy-making body. Board members are elected by the ACEP Council and serve three-year terms, with a limit of two consecutive terms. The ACEP Board of Directors represents a wide variety of backgrounds and work experiences in emergency medicine. And with new members joining every year, there are different perspectives and personalities year in and year out. 
The ACEP Council consists of members representing ACEP’s 53 chartered chapters (50 states, Puerto Rico, the District of Columbia and Government Services), its 32 sections of membership, the Association of Academic Chairs in Emergency Medicine (AACEM), the Council of Emergency Medicine Residency Directors (CORD), the Society for Acadmeic Emergency Medicine (SAEM) and the Emergency Medicine Residents' Association (EMRA).
ACEP Committees provide important leadership to ACEP members, its Board and Council. Each Committee is appointed by the President to assist with activities for the year. ACEP has more than 30 committees and task forces working on issues such as ethics, emergency medicine practice, pediatric emergency care, disaster medicine and more
Click here to
send us feedback