The ACEP Council consists of members representing ACEP’s 53 chartered chapters (50 states, Puerto Rico, the District of Columbia and Government Services), its sections of membership, the Association of Academic Chairs in Emergency Medicine (AACEM), the Council of Emergency Medicine Residency Directors (CORD), the Emergency Medicine Residents' Association (EMRA) and the Society for Academic Emergency Medicine (SAEM). Each year the Council elects members to the Board of Directors and ensures "grassroots" involvement in the democratic decision-making process.

The Council is a deliberative body that meets once a year for two days in conjunction with the College’s annual Scientific Assembly. The Council votes on resolutions which may be introduced by any member (as long as there are at least two people who co-sign the introduction of the resolution). The Council is also the body that votes on proposed changes to the Bylaws. Whether it is a resolution or a Bylaws amendment, actions of the Council are also voted on by the Board of Directors (Board).

 2015-16 Council Speaker
John G. McManus, Jr., MD, MBA, FACEP

Council Speaker 

 Gary R. Katz, MD, MBA, FACEP
Gary R. Katz, MD, MBA, FACEP 

Council Vice-Speaker 



2017 Council Resolutions 2017 Councillor Handbook

2017 Councillors and Alternates

2017 Council eNotebook   
Council Committees Action on Resolutions

Sort by:

lockACEP Members

For more help on writing resolutions, read Make A Difference: Write That Council Resolution . Definition The Council considers items in the form of resolutions. Resolutions set forth background information and propose a course of action. Submission and Deadline Resolutions can be submitted by e-mail, fa

Many College members introduce new ideas and current issues to ACEP through Council resolutions. This may sound daunting to our newer members, but the good news is that only takes two ACEP members to submit a resolution for Council consideration. In just a few months the ACEP Council will meet and consider numerous re

- 6/13/2017

You must be a Councillor or Alternate Councillor to serve on a Council committee. Volunteer to serve on a Council committee and lend your experience and expertise! Brief descriptions for each committee are listed below.  Council committee applications are due July 30, 2012. Eligible members will be appointe

Click here to
send us feedback