Honorary Membership Award

2017 Recipients

Patty Stowe, CAE
Patty Stowe, CAE
 Laura L. Tiberi, CAE 
 Laura L. Tiberi, CAE 
Gordon Wheeler 
Gordon B. Wheeler

The Honorary Membership Award is presented to an individual who has rendered outstanding service to the College or to the specialty of emergency medicine.


The Honorary Membership Award is a framed certificate. The recipient's name is inscribed on a master plaque at ACEP Headquarters. The recipient is considered a lifelong member of the College, is not required to pay any dues, and cannot vote or hold office but receives all other benefits and privileges of membership.


Any member or constituent chapter may nominate persons of distinction who have rendered outstanding service to the College or to the specialty of emergency medicine. Candidates for honorary membership cannot be currently eligible for other categories of College membership. National ACEP staff are eligible for nomination only after leaving employment from ACEP. Chapter executives are eligible for nomination only after leaving employment from the chapter.

The nominee should have made an outstanding contribution to ACEP by significantly helping to achieve one or more of the College's purposes and objectives. The nominee should serve as a role model for College members, and his/her personal attributes should include, but are not limited to: inspiration, innovation, diplomacy, planning, organization, management and administration, arbitration, consensus building, and decision making.

Past Recipients

1969 Richard D. Mudd, MD, PhD
1970 John T. Rogers, MD (Now deceased)
John G. Wiegenstein, MD (Now deceased)
1971 Robert J. Rathburn, MD (Now deceased)
1975 R. R. Hannas, Jr., MD
James D. Mills, Jr., MD (Now deceased)
1977 Harris B. Graves, MD (Now deceased)
1979 Peter Safar, MD
1980 A. L. Jenkins, MD
1981 Edward Abson, FRCS (Casualty Surgeons Assn Great Britain)
David Caro, (Casualty Surgeons Assn Great Britain)
John Collins, MD, ChB, MRCS (Casualty Surgeons Assn Great Britain - now deceased)
Ronald L. Krome, MD, FACEP
Karl G. Mangold, MD
George Podgorny, MD
1982 William T. Haeck, MD (Now deceased)
1983 Cyril T. M. Cameron, MD (Now deceased)
Ben E. Moore, MD (Now deceased)
John A. Rupke, MD
William H. Rutherford (Casualty Surgeons Assn Great Britain)
1984 B. Ken Gray, MD, FACEP
Carl Jelenko, III, MD (Now deceased)
Bill B. Smiley, MD, Ret.
1985 H. Arnold Muller, MD, FACEP
Leonard M. Riggs, Jr., MD
David Wilson, MD (Casualty Surgeons Assn Great Britain)
1986 Jack Leckie, MD (Now deceased)
John P. McDade, MD
Martin J. O'Neill, MD (Now deceased)
1987 George Adler, MD (Now deceased)
1988 Brooks F. Bock, MD, FACEP
Kathryn M. Dykgraaf
1989 Frederick Glass, MD
Bruce D. Janiak, MD, FACEP
1990 David Williams, FRCP, MRCGP (Casualty Surgeons Assn Great Britain)
1991 Jacek B. Franaszek, MD, FACEP
Mark M. Lindsey, MD
Benson S. Munger, PhD
Frank E. Foss, MD
1992 Robert K. Anzinger, MD, FACEP
John H. Harris, Jr., MD, DSc
1993 Maj. Gen. Norman Kirby, DBE, FRCS (BAEM Past President)
Reinald J. Leidelmeyer, MD
1994 Michael J. Bresler, MD, FACEP
1995 John A. Kitzhaber, MD
Robert M. Williams, MD, DPH, FACEP
1996 John B. McCabe, MD, FACEP
1997 Sandra L. Riggins
1998 Gregory L. Henry, MD, FACEP
Paul Pomeroy, Jr., MD, FACEP
Colin C. Rorrie, Jr., PhD
Ellen Taliaferro, MD, FACEP
1999 Larry A. Bedard, MD, FACEP
2000 Dennis C. Whitehead, MD, FACEP
2001 Nancy J. Auer, MD, FACEP
Jack R. Page, MD, FACEP
Carol S. Rivers, MD, FACEP
2002 Michael D. Bishop, MD, FACEP
Michael E. Gallery, PhD, CAE
Barbara W. Trainor
2003 John C. Moskop, PhD
John C. Moorhead, MD, FACEP
2004 Arthur Cooper, MD, FACS, FAAP, FCCM
Earl Schwartz, MD
Robert W. Schafermeyer, MD, FACEP
2005 Mary Ann Reinhart, PhD
Iris Wiegenstein
2006 David Blunk
Elaine Jastram
Gwen Messler-Harry
2007 David Zabel
2008 Beverly Lynch
Joy Zimmer
2009 James E. Coles, CAE
Ernest E. Moore, Jr., MD, FACEP
2010 Janet Goldberg
Diane K. Bollman
2011 Arthur Auer
Leah Heimbach, JD, RN, EMT-P
2012 Bernadette Carr
Edward R. Gaines, III, JD, CCP
E. Nicholas Kestner, III
2013    Caral Edelberg, CPC, CCS-P
2014 Phyllis L. Edans, CPA, CAE
2015     Marilyn Bromley, RN
  W. Calvin Chaney, JD, CAE
  Virginia Kennedy-Palys, JD
2016 Beth P. Brunner
  Barbara Burgess 
2017      Patty Stowe, CAE
  Laura L. Tiberi, CAE 
  Gordon B. Wheeler 

Entry Procedures

Any member may nominate a member by submitting a completed nomination form.  Submit the nomination form, nominee's curriculum vitae, and up to 3 letters of support to Mary Ellen Fletcher, CPC, CEDC, at the ACEP Headquarters. Letters of support are greatly encouraged and are at the discretion of the nominator. Additionally, a nominee should have only one nomination whether from a chapter, entity (such as a committee or section), or individual.  All entries must be submitted by the deadline for consideration by the Awards Committee.  


The Awards Committee will judge the entries, with its recommendations subject to review by the ACEP Board of Directors. The decision of the Board is final, and the Board reserves the right to make no award if there are no nominees of sufficient merit. The award will be presented at the annual President's Awards Banquet.

Click here to
send us feedback